Police and Crime
Read whole topic Back Print Forward

2. What types of penalties are there for committing a criminal offence?

The maximum penalty for committing a particular offence is usually set out in the legislation of the relevant offence. The court will decide what sentence (i.e. penalties) to be imposed on an offender by taking into consideration all the relevant factors including for example the nature of the offence, the maximum penalty set out in the legislation, why and how the offence was committed, and the individual circumstances of the offender. The following list explains the usual types of penalties (i.e. sentencing options) that the courts in Hong Kong may impose on an adult offender :

  1. Imprisonment : In Hong Kong , the death penalty has already been abolished. Imprisonment is therefore the heaviest penalty and involves incarceration of the convicted offender in a prison for a fixed period of time. The heaviest form of imprisonment is life imprisonment. Normally the offender needs not serve the full length of the actual term of imprisonment imposed by the court. According to rule 69 of the Prison Rules (Cap. 234A of the Laws of Hong Kong), the period of imprisonment may be subsequently reduced if the conduct of a prisoner is good. The maximum amount of reduction should not exceed one-third of the actual term of imprisonment. In practice, a prisoner will normally be given the full one-third reduction unless he or she behaves poorly or violates any prison rules. Hence, if a person is sentenced by the court to serve 3 years' imprisonment, that prisoner will usually be released from prison after two years. Rule 69 does not apply to a prisoner serving a sentence of imprisonment for life.


  2. Suspended Sentence : The court may impose a fixed term of imprisonment and then order that the sentence shall not take effect for a fixed period of 1 to 3 years. This is called a suspended sentence and the practical effect is that the offender needs not serve any prison sentence unless that offender commits an offence again within the prescribed period of time during which the sentence is suspended. Suspended sentences cannot be imposed in respect of certain offences , known as "excepted offences", which are set out in Schedule 3 of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance. They include robbery, indecent assault and other serious crimes. Moreover, suspended sentences are only applicable for those offenders who are sentenced to not more than two years imprisonment

  3. Discharge (with or without conditions) : A discharge is the release of an offender without imposing any penalty after convicting him or her of an offence . This is an exceptional order and may be made if the Magistrate takes the view that it is inexpedient to inflict any punishment other than a nominal punishment on the offender ( having regard to the character, antecedents, age, health or mental condition of the offender or to the trivial nature of the offence or to the extenuating circumstances under which the offence was committed ) (see section 36 of the Magistrates Ordinance).

    An absolute discharge bears no conditions, although a criminal conviction is still recorded against the offender. Where a conditional discharge is given by a Magistrate, the offender is required to enter into a recognizance, with or without sureties, in a sum not greater than $2000, to be of good behaviour by not doing certain prohibited acts, and to appear for sentence when called on at any time during a fixed period up to three years. If the offender commits the prohibited acts during the prescribed period, that offender may be required to pay the recognizance amount or be punished by the court for the original offence. A judge of the District Court or the Court of First Instance of the High Court also has the power to order conditional discharge of an offender after conviction under section 107 of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance and the recognizance amount may even exceed $2,000.

  4. Binding Over : A bind-over order is not a form of punishment but a preventive measure whereby the court requires a person to enter into a recognizance , with or without sureties, in a fixed sum, to be of good behaviour or to keep the peace for a period not exceeding 3 years. The Court of Final Appeal has held in Lau Wai Wo v HKSAR that a requirement in general terms that the person is to be of good behaviour or to keep the peace is too vague. Hence the bind-over order must also make clear what the person must not do during the prescribed period. For example, if a bad-tampered person has assaulted another in public, the court may order that person to be “bound over in the sum of $1,000 for one year to be of good behaviour and to refrain from engaging in fighting in public”. If that person fights in public within the one-year period, the court will order him to pay $1,000. The court may make a bind-over order against an accused person with or without convicting him, and may even be against a witness or a complainant who misbehaves in a court hearing.

    For a person who has no previous criminal record and has committed an offence which is not too serious (e.g. common assault or fight in public place without any weapon), the prosecution may agree to offer no evidence against that person on condition that the person agrees to be bound over by the Magistrate. The advantage of this procedure (commonly called “O.N.E. Bind Over”) from the accused person's viewpoint is that he is technically acquitted of the criminal charge and so will not have any criminal conviction record. On the other hand, the interest of justice is satisfied by subjecting the accused person to a court order of a preventive nature so that he will not commit similar wrongdoing again. This O.N.E. Bind Over procedure generally requires the consent of both the prosecution and the accused person with the approval of the Magistrate.


  5. Community Service Order : A community service order is an alternative to imprisonment whereby the offender is required to perform unpaid work in the community. The work is administered by the probation service. The maximum length of such a sentence is 240 hours. Not all offenders are suitable for such orders, and suitability reports are called for before such orders are made. Breaches of community service orders will usually be dealt with by the imposition of an immediate custodial sentence.


  6. Drug Addiction Treatment Centre Order : The court may order offenders who are addicted to dangerous drugs to receive treatment and rehabilitation in drug addiction treatment centres. Such orders are not suitable for all offenders and suitability reports are called for before such orders are made. Offenders are kept in prison or in a reception centre whilst awaiting the report.


  7. Probation Order : Probation is a form of punishment primarily aimed at the rehabilitation of offenders. A probation order can last for one to three years. Whilst it is not precluded as a sentencing option for serious crimes, a probation order is unlikely to be made in respect of serious crimes. A probation order may only be made if the convicted offender consents to it. Persons under probation orders are required to be of good behaviour and to remain in contact with a probation officer as may be required. People on probation may also be required to reside in an approved institution. If a probationer re-offends whilst on probation (that is, the probation order has not yet expired), or breaches the conditions of the probation order, that person may be re-sentenced for the original offence. A second probation order may be made, which subsumes the first one. Probation orders cannot be combined with sentences of imprisonment or community service orders. For example, a guilty offender cannot be sentenced to both a community service order and a probation order at the same time.


  8. Fine : A fine is a monetary penalty which may be imposed in lieu of or in addition to other forms of penalty. Failure to pay a fine will result in imprisonment, usually for a period of time which accords with the amount of the unpaid fine. Fines may be ordered to be paid by instalments.


  9. Compensation Order : Where a person is convicted of an offence, the Court may order that person to pay to the aggrieved party compensation for personal injury or loss or damage to property, or both, as the Court thinks reasonable.

  10. Restitution Order : A restitution order is an order under which the offender is compelled to return any "ill-gotten gains" to such person or persons as the Court deems fit. If restitution is made voluntarily, it becomes a mitigating factor that the court may take into account when sentencing the convicted offender.


  11. Forfeiture : Under a forfeiture order, property is confiscated (taken away) from an offender. Where another person is entitled to that property, the Court will order it to be returned to that person. If an owner cannot be identified, under the forfeiture order the property may be sold or retained by the government or destroyed if it is of no value. The Court's power to order forfeiture does not extend to land or the buildings standing on it.


  12. Disqualification from driving : For driving offences, disqualification from driving is considered a severe penalty. Usually it is imposed only where the legislation governing the offence expressly requires it or where the Court finds that the offender poses a danger to the public if that person continues to drive.


  13. Disqualification of company directors : Under certain sections of the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 32), the Court may disqualify a guilty offender from holding the position of company director. Disqualification may be for periods of over 10 years in the case of particularly serious offences.

  14. Hospital Order : This Order applies to a person with mental problems. Detention in a hospital with police security is provided for under the Mental Health Ordinance (Cap.136). Where the crime is serious, and where doctors cannot predict when the offender may be fit for release, the period of detention is usually left indeterminate.
Top

2. 刑事罪行有多少種刑罰?

每項刑事罪行之最高刑罰通常會列明於相關的法例條文內。法庭在判刑時,會考慮所有與案件有關的事項,例如罪行性質、有關法例訂明之最高刑罰、犯案的因由及過程、犯案者的個人因素等。以下簡述香港的法庭對成年罪犯判處之各類刑罰(即判刑選擇):

  1. 監禁:在香港,死刑經已被廢除。監禁是本地最嚴厲的刑罰,犯人需要在一段指定期間內被囚禁,而監禁之最長刑期是終身監禁。犯人未必一定需要根據法庭所判的實際刑期而服刑,《監獄規則》(香港法例第234A章第69條訂明,監禁刑期可因囚犯行為良好而被扣減,最多的扣減為實際刑期的三分之一。事實上,囚犯通常可獲扣減三分之一的刑期,除非該人在獄中行為差劣或違反監獄規則,舉例,如某囚犯被法庭判監三年,可於兩年後因為行為良好而獲提早釋放。但是,監獄規則第 69 條不適用於被判終身監禁的囚犯。

  2. 緩刑:法庭可判處固定的監禁刑期,但同時下令暫緩一至三年才執行該刑罰,此乃緩刑。除非犯人在緩刑期間再犯案,否則該犯人毋須入獄。但某些罪行(稱為「例外罪行」)不可判處緩刑,這些罪行列於《刑事訴訟程序條例》(第221章附表3內,其中包括行劫、猥褻侵犯及其他嚴重罪行。另外,緩刑只適用於被判入獄不超過兩年的犯人。


  3. 有條件或無條件釋放:法庭可將犯人定罪後,不判處任何刑罰而將其釋放,但法庭較少頒布此項命令。當裁判官考慮過犯人的個別情況後(例如其本性、身世背景、年齡、健康狀況),或基於罪行輕微或認為犯案是情有可原,便可下令釋放犯人(可參考《裁判官條例》(第227章第36條)。

    在無條件下釋放,犯人仍會留有案底。如裁判官判處有條件釋放,犯人會被要求以不超過2,000 元作擔保(以自簽方式或以其他保證人擔保),為期最多三年。於擔保期內,犯人須承諾保持行為良好及不再干犯任何罪行,並在有需要時被傳召出庭應訊。如在擔保期內再犯案,該犯人便要支付擔保金額,或根據原本之罪行而重新被判刑。

    區域法院或高等法院之法官,亦可根據《刑事訴訟程序條例第107條頒布有條件釋放的命令,但有關擔保金額可能超過2,000元。


  4. 簽保守行為:簽保守行為並非一種刑罰,而是一種預防措施。被要求簽保守行為的人須透過擔保方式(以某個金額並以自簽方式或其他保證人作擔保),承諾保持行為良好及遵守法紀,擔保期不超過三年。終審法院曾在Lau Wai Wo v HKSAR之案例中,指出保持行為良好及遵守法紀之要求太過空泛,因此,簽保守行為命令亦須列明犯人在擔保期內不能做的事情。舉例,一名脾氣暴躁的人在公眾地方襲擊他人後,法庭可判處該人「以1,000元簽保守行為 一年,期間須保持行為良好及不得在公眾地方打架」。如該人在一年內再於公眾地方打架,便要繳付1,000元擔保金。法庭可在定罪或不定罪之情況下,判處被告簽保守行為,此項判決亦適用於在審訊中行為不檢之證人或申訴人。

    如被告沒有案底而所犯之罪亦較為輕微(例如普通襲擊,或無持有武器下在公眾地方打架),控方或會選擇在被告同意簽保守行為下不提證供起訴(英文簡稱為 "O.N.E. Bind Over")。對被告來說,此安排的可取之處是被告沒有被正式定罪,亦即是沒有留案底。另一方面,法庭亦可透過此安排而防止被告再犯,從而亦維護了公義。一般來說,不提證供起訴而被告簽保守行為之安排,需要控辯雙方同意並獲得裁判官之批准才可實行。


  5. 社會服務令:社會服務令是代替監禁的一種刑罰,犯人需要在感化官的監管下,進行最多 240 小時的無薪社會服務工作。並非所有犯人都適合被判社會服務令,在法庭判處社會服務令前,會先為他們提取一份評估報告。如犯人違反社會服務令,通常會被判即時入獄。


  6. 戒毒所令:有毒癮的犯人,可能會被判入羈留式的戒毒所,目的是要他們在該處接受治療及改過自新。有關命令並非適合所有犯人,在作出有關命令前,法庭會先提取一份評估報告。犯人在等候報告期間會暫時被囚禁在監獄或羈押所。


  7. 感化令:感化的基本目的是為了讓犯人有改過自新的機會,而這項命令的有效期為一至三年。法庭很少會就嚴重罪行判處感化令。此外,法庭通常只會在罪犯同意下才判處感化令。受感化的人需要保持行為良好,並與感化官保持聯絡。他們也可能會被要求住在指定地點。如果他們在受感化期間再次犯案,或違反感化命令的條文,他們可能要就其原本干犯的罪行而重新接受判刑。法庭亦可能會判處新的感化令,以取代之前的感化命令。判處感化令的同時,法庭不可再判處監禁或社會服務令,例如一名被定罪人士,不可同時被判處社會服務令及感化令。


  8. 罰款:罰款可代替其他刑罰,或與其他刑罰一同判處。若犯人不繳付罰款,可被判監,而監禁時期之長短則視乎欠交金額之多寡。法庭亦可下令罰款以分期方式支付。

  9. 補償令:當一個人被定罪後,如法庭認為合理,便可以命令該人向受害者就人身傷亡或財物損失而作出賠償。


  10. 復還令:復還令是要罪犯將「不當地獲得的利益」歸還,即物歸原主,或歸還予法庭認為合適的人。如果犯人自願歸還有關物品或金錢,在判刑時便可以成為求情因素。

  11. 沒收:在沒收令下,犯人的財物會被沒收,如果另一人有擁有權,法庭便會下令將財物交還該人。如果未能確定財物的擁有人,有關財物可能會被賣出或被政府保留,無價值的話便會被銷毀。法庭的沒收令並不適用於土地或樓房。


  12. 吊銷駕駛執照:對駕駛者來說,吊銷駕駛執照屬於重罰。通常是由於在有關情況下,法例訂明上述判罰是必要的,或認為如違例者繼續駕駛將對公眾構成危險,法庭才會作出有關判決。


  13. 取消擔任公司董事資格:在《公司條例》(第32章)的某些條文下,法庭可取消犯人擔任公司董事的資格。如涉及特別嚴重的案件,取消資格的年期可超過十年。


  14. 醫院令:此項命令適用於患有精神病的犯人。根據《精神健康條例》(第136章),法庭可下令將某人羈留在警察監視的醫院病房內。如果案情嚴重而醫生未能預計犯人何時才可出院,法庭便未必會訂明羈留時期。
返回頁頂