Skip to main content

1. Upskirt photography

One of the most common forms of voyeurism is upskirting, the act of taking a photograph of underneath someone’s skirt without their consent. Given that these acts often involve the use of computer (which includes any electronic devices such as mobile phones and tablets), offenders are often charged with obtaining access to a computer with a view to dishonest gain for himself or another, contrary to section 161(1)(c) of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200).

 

For an offence contrary to section 161(1)(c) of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200), the maximum punishment is 5 years’ imprisonment.

 

In the recent decision by the Court of Final Appeal in HKSAR v Cheng Ka Yee & Ors, it was held that the offence of obtaining access to a computer with a view to dishonest gain for himself or another under section 161(1)(c) of the Crimes Ordinance does not apply to the use by a person of his or her own computer, not involving the access to another’s computer. This in turn means that a person who uses his or her own computer (regardless of being in a public or private place) to commit acts not involving access to another’s computer (i.e. through hacking) will not be liable for an offence under section 161.

 

The implication of the decision of HKSAR v Cheng Ka Yee & Ors is that a person using his smartphone to record or take photos of a woman’s skirt will not and cannot be prosecuted by the offence of section 161 because the person would be using his own device without involving access to another’s computer.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 偷拍裙底

偷拍裙底是一个比较常见的窥淫行为,牵涉未经他人同意下拍下裙底的照片。由于这类行为涉及使用电脑(包括任何电子仪器,例如手机及平板电脑),犯案人一般会以《刑事罪行条例》(香港法例第200章)第161(1)(c) 条的有犯罪或不诚实意图而取用电脑的罪行被控。

 

根据《刑事罪行条例》(香港法例第200章)第161(1)(c)条,最高刑罚是监禁5年。

 

在终审法院最近于HKSAR v Cheng Ka Yee & Ors一案的裁决中,裁定「不诚实取用电脑」罪行,只适用于取用他人的电脑,用自己的电脑不会触犯法例。有见及此,使用自己的电脑的人(无论是私人还是公众地方)作出没有取用他人的电脑(譬如透过黑客入侵)并不会干犯第161(1)(c)条。

 

HKSAR v Cheng Ka Yee & Ors一案意味着一名未经他人同意下拍他人裙底的人并不会触犯牵涉未经他人同意下拍下裙底,因为他使用的电脑是属于他自己的,同时他亦没有取用他人的电脑。

修订日期: