Police and Crime
Read whole topic Back Print Forward

6. Under what circumstances can the police enter and search my home or office? Must the police obtain a "search warrant" before taking such action? What would be the consequences if I refuse their entry? Can the police seize anything inside my flat?

Power of Entry and Search

The police can enter and search any premises with a warrant issued by a Magistrate. In order to obtain such a search warrant, the police must generally provide evidence on oath to the Magistrate to show that there is a reasonable cause to suspect that there is any article or document in any building or place which is likely to be of value to the investigation of any offence. Under the warrant, the police may break into the premises if necessary. While the search is being carried out, the police may also detain any person who may have such articles or documents in his possession or control in order to prevent any hindrance to the search (section 50(7) of the Police Force Ordinance).

The police can also enter and search any premises without a warrant , if they have reason to believe that a person to be arrested is inside the premises.

Otherwise the police have no general power to enter into private premises without the consent of the owner or occupant.

Consequences of Refusal

If you are simply asked by police officers for consent to allow them entry into your premises, you may choose to refuse. However, if the police officers produce a search warrant issued by a Magistrate, or demands that you open the door on the ground that they reasonably believe a person to be arrested is inside your premises, then you must cooperate. Otherwise, you may be guilty of the offence of resisting or obstructing the police officers in the due execution of their duties and they may also break open the door for their entry.

Power of Seizure

The police officers may be authorised under the search warrant to take possession of articles or documents inside the premises. Moreover, following the arrest of a person on the premises, the police officers may take possession of any item they find on the person or inside the premises which they reasonably suspect to be of value to the investigation of the suspected offence.

Top

6. 在甚麼情況下,警方可以進入我的住宅或辦公室搜查?警方是否一定要得到「搜查令」才可採取行動?如果我不讓他們進入,會有甚麼後果?警方是否可以在單位內撿走任何物品?

進入處所 / 單位搜查之權力

若警方持有裁判官發出的手令(又稱搜查令),他們可進入任何單位進行搜查。警方須以宣誓方式向裁判官提出證據,證明他們有理由懷疑在某建築物或地方內,藏有任何有調查價值的物品。在持有手令下,警方可於必要時破門入屋,亦可於進行搜查時扣留任何可能持有或控制可疑物品的人,避免該人阻礙搜查(《警隊條例》(第232章第50(7)條)。

如警方有理由相信任何須予逮捕的人已經身處有關單位內,他們有權在沒有手令下進入任該單位進行搜查。

除上述之外,警方無權進入私人地方,除非他們事先取得業主或佔用人之同意。

拒絕讓警方進入的後果

如警方只是詢問可否容許他們進入單位,閣下可以拒絕。但是,若他們持有裁判官發出的手令,或有理由相信任何須予逮捕的人已經身處單位內,閣下便必須合作。否則,閣下會犯下抗拒或阻礙警方執行職務之罪行(即「阻差辦公」),警方亦可能會強行破門入屋。

沒收物品之權力

搜查令的條文中可能會授權警方檢走單位內之某些物品 。此外,當警方在單位內拘捕任何人後,他們亦可撿走任何在該人身上或單位內搜出而有調查價值的物品。

返回頁頂