Skip to main content

CONTRIBUTION REQUIRED UNDER THE ORDINARY LEGAL AID SCHEME

If your financial resources assessed by the Director of Legal Aid do not exceed $38,391.25, you do not need to pay any fee for obtaining Legal Aid. The financial resources of an applicant who is receiving Comprehensive Social Security Assistance will normally be considered as NOT exceeding $38,391.25 (unless there is any evidence to the contrary).

 

If your financial resources assessed by the Director of Legal Aid are between $38,391.26 and $307,130, you will have to pay a contribution ranging from $768 to $76,783 upon acceptance of Legal Aid.

 

This contribution fee is all you have to pay for the legal services if you eventually lose in the proceedings or cannot recover any money or property.

 

However, if you win and recover or preserve any money or property, you also need to pay for the legal costs incurred by the Director of Legal Aid on your behalf but which cannot be recovered from your opponent. The unrecoverable legal costs will (1) first be deducted from the contribution already paid and then (2) from the money or property recovered or preserved.

 

For example, if (1) your have paid a contribution fee of $10,000, (2) you succeed in your claim and recover $1,000,000 from the other party, (3) the legal costs incurred by the Director of Legal Aid on your behalf amount to $400,000, and (4) the legal costs recoverable from the other party amount to $300,000, then the net sum you can receive will be $910,000 [i.e.This is the $1,000,000 settlement sum, minus the shortfall in legal costs of $90,000. The $90,000 results from the total legal costs of $400,000 minus the $300,000 in legal costs recovered from the other party and your contribution fee of $10,000.]

 

Please click here to see the scale of contribution for obtaining civil legal aid under the ordinary scheme.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

「普通法律援助計劃」的分擔費

如果閣下經法律援助署署長評估的財務資源並不超過港幣38,391.25元,則毋須為法律援助服務繳付任何費用。正在領取綜援的申請人的財務資源通常會被視為不超過港幣38,391.25元(除非有證據顯示並非如此,則作別論)。

 

如果閣下經評估後的財務資源介乎港幣38,391.26元和港幣307,130元,則閣下於接納法律援助服務時,需繳付港幣768至港幣76,783元的分擔費。

 

若閣下最終敗訴或未能討回任何金錢或財產,亦毋須繳付分擔費以外的任何費用。

 

但若閣下勝訴並討回或獲得任何金錢或財產,則需支付法律援助署署長代閣下支付但未能向對方討回的訴訟費。有關未能討回的訴訟費將 (1) 先從已經繳付的分擔費中扣除,(2) 再從閣下討回或獲得的金錢或財產中扣除。

 

例子﹕假如 (1) 閣下已經繳付港幣10,000 元的分擔費,(2) 於索償中成功向對方討回港幣1,000,000元,(3) 法律援助署署長代閣下支付的訴訟費為港 400,000 元,以及 (4) 向對方討回港幣300,000 元訴訟費,則閣下收回的淨款額將會是港幣 910,000元[即1,000,000 元減(400,000 元- 300,000元- 10,000元)] 。

 

請按這裡查看費用分擔表。

修訂日期: