Skip to main content

H. What are the possible outcomes after the investigation?

  1. The Commission may take no further action, and will provide a written explanation of this outcome to the complainant. Sometimes it is not necessary for the Commission to take any action if the parties have already changed their conduct in response to the Commission’s enquiries. In such case, the complainant will be informed of this.
  2. The Commission may accept a commitment to take any action or refrain from taking any action from parties under investigation.
  3. If the Commission has reasonable cause to believe that there has been a contravention of the First Conduct Rule, and this suspected contravention does not involve Serious Anti-competitive Conduct, the Commission must first issue a warning notice before commencing proceedings in the Tribunal. The warning notice provides parties under investigation with an opportunity to cease the conduct within a specified period.
  4. The Commission may issue an infringement notice where it has reasonable cause to believe that there has been a contravention of the First Conduct Rule involving Serious Anti-competitive Conduct and/or the Second Conduct Rule. In the Infringement Notice, the Commission will offer not to bring proceedings
  5. in the Tribunal on condition that the undertaking(s) under investigation makes a commitment to comply with the requirements of the notice within a specified compliance period.
  6. Instead of issuing an infringement notice, where the Commission has reasonable cause to believe that a person has contravened the First Conduct Rule involving Serious Anti-competitive Conduct and/or the Second Conduct Rule, or been involved in such a contravention, the Commission may also directly initiate proceedings before the Competition Tribunal.
  7. The Commission may refer the complaint to a Government agency wherever appropriate, and provide a written explanation of this outcome to the complainant.
  8. In addition to the investigation, the Commission may also conduct market studies into matters affecting competition in markets in Hong Kong.

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on Investigations Paras 7.6, 7.14, 7.16-7.17 & 7.24-7.25]

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

H. 调查后可能会有甚么结果?

  1. 如竞争事务委员会不打算就某投诉事宜采取进一步行动,竞争事务委员会将就此结果向投诉人作书面解释。如竞争事务委员会不采取进一步行动的决定,是受到有关各方因竞争事务委员会的查询行动而改变其行为所影响,竞争事务委员会亦将通知投诉人此结果。
  2. 受调查的各方向竞争事务委员会承诺采取一些行动或不做某些行为,竞争事务委员会可在任何阶段接受有关承诺。
  3. 如有竞争事务委员会有合理因由相信关涉嫌违法的事宜涉嫌违反第一行为守则的行为,但并不涉及严重反竞争行为,则竞争事务委员会必须在审裁处提起法律程序前发出告诫通知。告诫通知为受调查的各方提供机会,在指明的限期内终止相关行为。
  4. 如竞争事务委员会有合理因由相信,违反第一行为守则且牵涉严重反竞争行为的情况,及╱或违反第二行为守则的情况已发生,竞争事务委员可发出违章通知书。在违章通知书中,竞争事务委员会提出不在审裁处提起法律程序,但条件是受调查的企业须作出承诺,在指明的遵守限期内遵守该通知书的各项规定。
  5. 如竞争事务委员会有合理因由相信,违反第一行为守则且牵涉严重反竞争行为的情况,及╱或违反第二行为守则的情况已发生,竞争事务委员会可直接在审裁处启动法律程序,取代发出违章通知书。
  6. 竞争事务委员会可将投诉个案转介到其他政府机构,就此结果向投诉人作出书面解释。
  7. 除调查涉嫌违反竞争守则的个案外,竞争事务委员会可就影响香港市场竞争的个案,进行市场研究。

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《调查指引》第7.6、7.14、7.16-7.17及7.24-7.25段]

修订日期: