Skip to main content

1. Predatory pricing

What is predatory pricing?

Offering low prices to consumers for example by giving out discounts, cutting costs and otherwise competing on prices is the epitome of competitive conduct. However, if an undertaking with substantial market power sets prices so low that it deliberately foregoes profits in order to force one or more other competitors out of the market, this may amount to predatory pricing.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Paras 5.3-5.4]

 

How could predatory pricing harm competition?

Generally speaking, an adverse effect on competition will arise where there is or likely to be anti-competitive foreclosure of existing competitors or new entrants. In the short run, the undertaking with substantial market power which set the below-cost prices may incur losses; however, in the long run, it would be able to charge higher, supra-competitive prices once it has forced other competitors out of the market. In this scenario, consumers will ultimately be worse off due to weakened competition leading to higher prices and reduced product quality and choice.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Para 5.4]

 

Hypothetical example

KowloonVend Ltd and New Vending Co are the only two companies that sell vending machines in Hong Kong. KowloonVend has the majority of vending machine sales, while New Vending, a recent entrant in the market, has a much smaller share. KowloonVend was selling its machines at a highly profitable price. When it entered the market, New Vending began selling its machines at a much lower price and KowloonVend’s market share began to decline. New Vending gained these lost sales from KowloonVend. In response, KowloonVend cut its prices in half. This low price is not enough to cover any measure of KowloonVend’s costs and KowloonVend loses money with each vending machine sold. New Vending cannot compete with these low prices and eventually goes out of business.

 

Assuming it can be established that KowloonVend has a substantial degree of market power, the Commission may assess KowloonVend’s conduct as predatory and a contravention of the Second Conduct Rule. The conduct might also be considered as having the object of harming competition.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Example 5]

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 掠夺性定价

甚么是掠夺性定价?

以折扣和削减成本等措施在价格方面进行竞争为消费者提供低价是竞争典型行为。但是,如果当具有相当程度市场权势的企业定出明知没有利润可图的低价,以迫使一个或多个竞争者退出市场时,这就是「掠夺性定价」。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第二行为守则指引》第5.3-5.4段]

 

掠夺性定价如何损害竞争?

一般来说,当出现或相当可能会出现针对现有竞争对手或新进入者的反竞争封锁时,便会对竞争造成不利影响。短期而言,定出低于成本定价而具有相当程度市场权势的企业可能出现亏蚀,但长期而言,当相关竞争对手被迫退出市场之后,这些企业将可收取更高的独占性价格。由于竞争减少导致价格上涨、产质量素下降和选择减少,消费者最终会处于不利的处境。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第二行为守则指引》第5.4段]

 

虚构示例

KowloonVend Ltd与NewVending Co是本港境内仅有的两间销售自动售货机的公司。KowloonVend占有大部分自动售货机销售额,相比之下,新近进入市场的New Vending所占的销售额则小得多。KowloonVend原本以高利润的价格销售其自动售货机。而NewVending在进入市场时,以低得多的价格销售其自动售货机,令KowloonVend的市场占有率开始下降。KowloonVend所损失的销售额全部均由NewVending取得。为此,KowloonVend将其价格下调一半。此低价不足以支付KowloonVend任何标准的成本,其销售的每一台自动售货机都在蚀本。New Vending无法以如此低的价格与其竞争,最终倒闭。

 

假设能证明KowloonVend具有相当程度的市场权势,竞争事务委员会可能会将KowloonVend的行为评估为违反第二行为守则的攻击性行为。有关行为更可能被视为具有损害竞争目的。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第二行为守则指引》虚构示例5]

修订日期: