Skip to main content

3. Exchange of information

 

What are the possible benefits of information exchange?

 

Competition is often enhanced through the sharing of information, for example, in relation to best practices or exchanges of information which allow firms to better predict how demand is likely to evolve. Similarly, information exchanges may facilitate price comparisons by consumers or reduce consumer search costs. As a general proposition, the more informed consumers are, the more effective market competition is likely to be.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.38]

 

When does information exchange raise competition concerns?

 

Concerns may arise where undertakings which are competitors exchange competitively sensitive information such as confidential information relating to price, customers, production costs, quantities, marketing and investment plans etc.

 

In particular, if competitors share information in private on their future individual intentions or plans with respect to price, the exchange of such information has the object of harming competition.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Paras 6.39-6.40] & Hypothetical example 10

 

Hypothetical example

 

A trade association for junk owners collects from and circulates to its members information on their respective proposed future prices. This includes information as to the proposed prices for specific journeys. The information is not made available to the public and is circulated to members in advance of a seasonal price review by the association members.

 

Absent a decision of the association giving rise to the information exchange or evidence of an agreement between members to engage in the information exchange, the Commission would infer that this arrangement is implemented as part of a concerted practice with the object of harming competition. The conduct allows the junk owners to adjust their future pricing to reflect the proposed pricing of competitors and thus reduces price competition in the market. The information exchange arrangement is an indirect form of price fixing.

 

The Commission would also regard the conduct to be Serious Anti-competitive Conduct under the Ordinance.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 交换资料

交换资料有何益处?

 

竞争往往能通过资料共享而得以加强,例如,互相交流最佳方法、或令企业更准确预测需求走势的相关资料。同样地,交换资料可能有助消费者比较价格或降低其格价成本。一般而言,消费者掌握越多信息,竞争就可能越有效。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.38段]

 

交换资料何时会引发竞争上的问题?

互为竞争对手的企业交换资料可能会引起问题,尤其是当竞争对手所交换的资料是影响竞争的敏感资料时。影响竞争的敏感资料报括:有关价格、价格元素或定价策略、顾客、生产成本、产量、宣传和投资计划等等。

 

特别是,如果竞争者私下交换其价格上的未来意向或计划,竞争事务委员会可能会认为交换此类资料的目的是损害竞争。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.39-6.40段及虚构示例10 ]

 

虚构示例10

帆船业者协会向会员收集和发放各会员所拟订的未来价格资料,其中包括特定航线的定价资料。该资料不向公众公开,而是在协会会员进行季节性价格调整前给会员传阅。

 

在没有证据证明有关的资料交换是基于协会决定或会员协议而进行的情况下,竞委会将推断上述安排为经协调做法的一部份,并具有损害竞争的目的。该行为令帆船业者得以参照竞争对手拟订的价格来调整各自的未来定价,从而减少市场上的价格竞争。此交换资料安排是一种间接合谋定价的方式。

 

上述行为还将被竞争事务委员会视为《竞争条例》下的严重反竞争行为。

修订日期: