Skip to main content

7. Exclusive distribution and exclusive customer allocation

What is an exclusive distribution agreement?

In an exclusive distribution agreement, a supplier assigns exclusivity for the re-sale of its products in a particular territory to a single distributor (or a re-seller).

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.85]

 

What is an exclusive customer allocation agreement?

In an exclusive customer allocation agreement, the supplier assigns exclusivity to a single distributor for re-sale to a particular group of customers.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.85]

 

Exclusive distribution and exclusive customer allocation agreements will not generally be considered by the Commission to have the object of harming competition. For the purposes of the First Conduct Rule, these types of agreement will generally require an analysis of their effects or likely effects on competition in the relevant market, including an assessment of how intra-brand and inter-brand competition is affected, the extent of the territorial and/or customer sales limitations, and whether exclusive distributorships are common generally in the markets impacted by the agreements under consideration.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.86]

 

Hypothetical example

SportCo, a global brand, is a medium-sized player in the Hong Kong market for sports equipment. SportCo’s practice is to appoint an exclusive wholesale distributor for each country where its products are marketed and it has one such distributor for Hong Kong. To become a SportCo exclusive wholesaler, the distributor is obliged to sell only SportCo products and not to sell the products of SportCo’s rivals. Distributors are responsible for all promotional activities in their allotted territory and SportCo reimburses certain of the promotional costs incurred by its distributors including costs associated with staff training.

 

In addition to the SportCo distributor, a large number of competing distributors already operate in Hong Kong. Moreover, as many of SportCo’s competitors do not require exclusivity, a number of these distributors operate successfully on a nonexclusive basis. SportCo does not seek to prevent online retailers based outside of Hong Kong from selling to end consumers in Hong Kong. Hong Kong consumers can therefore also purchase SportCo’s products online from overseas should they wish.

 

While the combination of an exclusive territory arrangement with a non-compete clause might give rise to concerns under the First Conduct Rule in some cases in terms of foreclosing competing suppliers’ access to the market, there is no evidence on the facts that this would be an issue here. SportCo’s practice may limit competition for SportCo’s own products at the distributor level, but interbrand competition appears strong and it is notable that a number of the competing distributors in Hong Kong do not operate on an exclusive basis. Further, the fact that end consumers can purchase SportCo’s products online may serve to alleviate some concerns around a restriction of intra-brand competition.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Hypothetical Example 19]

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

7. 独家分销及独家顾客编配

甚么是独家分销协议?

在独家分销协议中,供货商会将其产品于特定区域内的独家转售权授予一家分销商(或转售商)。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.85段]

 

甚么是独家顾客编配协议?

在独家顾客编配协议中,供货商会将产品转售予特定顾客群组的独家转售权授予一家分销商。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.85段]

 

竞争事务委员会一般不会认为独家分销或独家顾客编配协议具有损害竞争的目的。就第一行为守则而言,一般需要分析该等协议对相关市场内的竞争产生或可能产生的效果,包括评估品牌内竞争和品牌间竞争如何受到影响、有关区域销售限制及╱或顾客销售限制的程度,以及在受调查协议所影响的市场中独家分销是否普遍存在。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.86段]

 

虚构示例

全球品牌SportCo是香港运动用品市场内一个中等规模的参与者。SportCo的惯常做法是在销售其产品的每个国家委任一家独家批发分销商,在香港也是如此。要成为SportCo的独家批发商,有关分销商必须只销售SportCo的产品,而不能销售SportCo竞争对手的产品。同时,分销商需于其所属地区内负责所有宣传活动。SportCo会为部分宣传开支,包括培训职员的相关开支,向分销商作出补偿。

 

除SportCo的分销商外,大量互相竞争的分销商早已在香港营运。再者,很多SportCo的竞争对手并不需要在香港实施独家分销安排,而当中部分的分销商在没有独家分销的安排下营运得相当成功。此外,SportCo亦没有阻止其海外的网上分销商向香港的最终消费者提供SportCo的产品。因此,香港的消费者亦能够随意透过互联网从海外购买SportCo的产品。

 

虽然独家地域安排与不竞争条款的组合,可能在某些案件中引起第一行为守则下排除其他竞争供货商于市场外的问题,上述事实并无证据显示本案中也有同样的问题。虽然SportCo的做法可能在分销层面上限制了SportCo品牌内的竞争,但品牌之间的竞争似乎仍然激烈,而值得注意的是市场上仍有一定数量互相竞争的分销商没有以独家分销的方式营运。再者,由于最终消费者亦能够透过互联网购买SportCo的产品,这亦会减轻了限制品牌内的竞争所引起的问题。

 

鉴于相关市场的结构,有关的独家分销安排似乎不大可能助长供应或分销层面上的合谋行为。涉案的供货商为中型机构,香港市场上亦有许多其他分销商,而且并不是所有的分销商都以独家分销的方式营运。

 

况且,即使SportCo的独家分销协议对竞争造成负面影响,该协议对分销商的限制相当可能激励该分销商推广SportCo这品牌,从而可能获得《竞争条例》附表1第1条对提升整体经济效率的协议的一般豁除。SportCo是否能够获得相关豁除将视乎个案的具体事实,但值得留意的是SportCo会为分销商的部分宣传开支作出补偿。有见及此,SportCo或声称其有需要向分销商施加「不竞争」责任,以免SportCo的竞争对手在使用那些分销商的过程中,从SportCo对该些分销商的投资中获得利益。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》虚构示例19]

修订日期: