Skip to main content

5. Exclusive dealing

What is exclusive dealing?

‘Exclusive dealing’ includes exclusive purchasing obligations, which refers to where an undertaking requires its customers to purchase all or a substantial portion of its requirements for a particular product from the undertaking. It may also take the form of a conditional or otherwise loyalty-inducing rebate. Where an exclusive purchasing obligation is imposed by an undertaking with substantial market power, this may prevent other competitors from selling their products to those customers, and potentially foreclose such competitors.

 

Exclusive dealing also includes exclusive supply obligations or incentive arrangements with a similar effect. Where an undertaking with substantial market power uses such arrangements to foreclose competitors by preventing them from accessing particular inputs, this may raise competition concerns if the exclusive supply locks up most of the efficient input suppliers in the market, and the competitors of that undertaking would be unable to secure the inputs from alternative suppliers.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Paras 5.24-5.25 & 5.27]

 

When does exclusive dealing raise competition concerns?

Exclusive dealing is commonly used in commercial arrangements and in most cases will not harm competition. Competition concerns may only arise where:

 

  1. the undertaking with substantial market power has imposed exclusive purchasing obligations on many customers.
  2. it is likely that consumers as a whole will not derive a benefit from such exclusive dealing; and
  3. the relevant exclusive dealing obligations, as a whole, prevent the entry or expansion of its competitors because of, for example, the exclusive purchasing locking up a significant part of the market and foreclosing its competitors.

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the Second Conduct Rule Para 5.28]

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

5. 独家交易

甚么是独家交易? 独家交易如何损害市场?

独家交易包括独家采购要求,指的是要求顾客只向具有相当程度市场权势的企业购买全部或大部分所需的特定产品。独家交易也可以是附有条件或忠诚度诱导的回扣。如果具有相当程度市场权势的企业实施独家采购要求,这可能会阻止其他竞争对手向其客户销售产品,并可能封锁竞争对手。

 

独家采购要求:要求顾客只向具有相当程度市场权势的企业购买全部或大部分所需的特定产品,阻止竞争对手向其顾客销售产品,从而消除这些竞争对手。

 

独家交易还包括独家供应要求及有类似效果的奖励机制。当具有相当程度市场权势的企业利用此类安排封锁竞争对手,阻碍其获得原料供应时,若独家供应或奖励机制锁定了市场上大多数有效的原料供货商,令该企业的竞争对手无法通过其他供货商获得该原料,则上述安排可能引起竞争上的问题。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第二行为守则指引》第5.24-5.25及5.27-段]

 

独家交易何时会引发竞争上的问题?

独家交易通常用于商业安排,在大多数情况下不会损害竞争。竞争问题可能在以下情况出现:

 

  1. 具有相当程度市场权势的企业已将独家采购要求强加予很多顾客;
  2. 消费者又不大可能从中获益;及
  3. 相关独家交易要求整体上更具有阻止其他竞争对手进入或扩张市场的效果(例如由于独家采购锁定了大部分相关市场 — 即有反竞争封锁出现)。

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第二行为守则指引》第5.28段]

修订日期: