Skip to main content

6. Vertical price restrictions

What are vertical price restrictions?

They are restrictions imposed or recommended by an undertaking which affect the prices at which another undertaking operating at a different level of the production or distribution chain sells its products.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.69]

 

The following are common forms of vertical price restrictions:

 

a. Resale price maintenance

b. Recommended or maximum prices

 

a. Resale price maintenance

What is resale price maintenance (RPM)?

The most common example of a vertical price restriction is resale price maintenance. It occurs when a supplier establishes a fixed or minimum resale price for the distributors, for example retailers, to follow when they resell the product.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.71]

 

RPM may be considered as having the object of harming competition if:

 

  1. a supplier implemented the RPM in response to pressure from a distributor (e.g. retailer) seeking to limit competition from competitors of the distributor (e.g. other retailers) at the resale level; or
  2. the RPM is implemented by a supplier solely to foreclose competing suppliers.

Where RPM does not have the object of harming competition, it will be assessed based on its effects including any possibile efficiencies.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.75-6.76]

 

Hypothetical example

HomeStore is the owner of a wide number of household goods shops across Hong Kong. HomeStore is a significant customer of CleanUpCo for a number of daily use products which are widely available in supermarkets, convenience stores, specialist stores and smaller shops.

 

HomeStore is concerned that its competitors, including other large chain stores and smaller independent stores, are offering CleanUpCo’s products at a lower price than HomeStore. HomeStore is concerned that its competitors’ pricing decisions will impact on the profitability of a number of important business lines in its stores. HomeStore therefore pressures CleanUpCo to require its customers to sell CleanUpCo products across Hong Kong at a fixed retail price determined by CleanUpCo. As HomeStore is a significant customer of CleanUpCo, CleanUpCo implements the RPM policy.

 

The Commission would view this arrangement as having the object of harming competition. HomeStore’s insistence on CleanUpCo introducing a fixed retail price across Hong Kong has an inherent ability to harm competition. In this scenario, the purpose of the arrangement is merely to protect HomeStore from the competitive pricing of its competitors. In addition, there would be unlikely to be sufficient justifications for the RPM practice to satisfy the terms of the general exclusion for agreements enhancing overall economic efficiency in section 1 of Schedule 1 to the Ordinance.

 

The Commission would also consider the RPM in the example to be Serious AntiCompetitive Conduct under the Ordinance.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Example 16]

 

b. Recommended or maximum prices

Recommended or maximum resale price agreements may give rise to a concern where they serve to establish a “focal point” for distributor pricing (that is, where the distributors generally follow the recommended or maximum price), and/or where they soften competition between suppliers or otherwise facilitate coordination between suppliers. An agreement which entails recommended or maximum resale prices will be subject to an analysis of its competitive effects. The more market power the supplier has, the more likely would such agreements have the effect of harming market competition.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.79-6.80]

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

6. 纵向价格限制

甚么是纵向价格限制?

纵向价格限制是指由一个企业向另一个在生产或分销链不同层面营运的企业施加或建议遵守的限制,以影响后者销售其产品的价格。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.69段]

 

以下是纵向价格限制的常见形式:

 

a. 操控转售价格

b. 建议或最高价格

 

a. 甚么是操控转售价格?

操控转售价格是纵向价格限制的典型例子。操控转售价格是指供货商订定分销商转售有关产品时需要遵守的固定或最低转售价格。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.71段]

 

当供货商受到某分销商的压力,而操控该分销商的竞争对手的转售价格,以限制零售层面的竞争,或供货商仅仅为了排挤其他与其竞争的供货商而操控转售价格,则该安排会被视为具有限制竞争目的。

 

当操控转售价格不具有损害竞争的目的时,竞委会将评估其效果是否对竞争造成损害。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.75-6.76段]

 

虚构示例

HomeStore在香港各处拥有多间家庭用品商店。HomeStore是CleanUpCo几种日用品的重要顾客,而该等日用品在超级市场、便利店、专门店及小型商店广泛可见。

 

HomeStore关注到其竞争对手,包括其他大型连锁店与小型独立商铺均以较低的价钱销售CleanUpCo产品。HomeStore担心竞争对手的定价将影响其旗下商店数条重要商品线的业绩。为此,HomeStore向CleanUpCo施压,令其要求所有顾客按CleanUpCo所定的固定零售价格在香港销售其产品。由于HomeStore是CleanUpCo的重要顾客,后者推行了上述操控转售价格措施。

 

竞争事务委员会将视此安排具有损害竞争目的。HomeStore坚持CleanUpCo在香港推行固定零售价格的做法本质上便具有损害竞争的能力。在此情况中,该安排的作用仅仅是为了让HomeStore无需面对来自其他竞争对手的价格竞争。此外,该控制转售价格的做法不大可能有充分理据,以满足《竞争条例》附表1第1条为提升整体经济效率的协议而设的一般豁除的条件。

 

竞争事务委员会认为,本示例中的操控转售价格属于《竞争条例》下的严重反竞争行为。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》虚构示例16 ]

 

b. 建议或最高价格

建议或最高转售价格协议若为分销商的定价提供了一个「焦点」(即分销商普遍遵循该建议或最高转售价格),及╱或减弱供货商之间的竞争或助长它们之间的协调行为,则可能引发竞争上的问题。包含建议转售价格或最高转售价格的协议,会按其竞争效果而进行分析。其市场权势越大,该行为具有损害竞争效果的可能性越高。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.79-6.80段]

修订日期: