Skip to main content

2. Joint buying

What is joint buying?

A joint or group buying agreement arises when undertakings agree to jointly purchase products including inputs (e.g. raw materials) used for the production of other products. Joint buying can be carried out through a jointly controlled legal entity, through an association, or by a contractual arrangement between undertakings or some looser form of cooperation.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Paras 6.31-6.32]

What are the possible benefits of joint buying?

Joint buying frequently allows small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) to achieve economies of scale similar to those of their larger competitors’. This may lead to lower prices in the market where the joint buying takes place, lower transaction costs, and/or enhanced distribution efficiencies for the SMEs.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Para 6.33]

When does joint buying raise competition concerns?

A joint buying arrangement would typically not be considered by the Commission to have the object of harming competition unless it is a disguised buyers’ cartel. An analysis of the effects on competition of joint buying will consider the effects of the arrangement on both the upstream buying and the downstream selling markets, i.e. the relevant markets where the undertakings engage in the joint buying and the relevant markets where the jointly purchased products are subsequently sold or where other products produced using jointly purchased inputs are sold.

 

Harmful effects on competition in the downstream market may occur if, for example, the joint buying results in competitors in the downstream market achieving a high degree of commonality of costs or where there is some sharing of competitively sensitive information beyond what is necessary for the purposes of the buying arrangement. As regards the upstream buying market, concerns may arise if, for example, the joint buying results in the buying market being foreclosed to competing purchasers.

 

In general, joint buying is unlikely to give rise to concerns under the First Conduct Rule if the parties do not have market power in the relevant downstream markets.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Paras 6.34-6.37]

Hypothetical example

With a view to achieving savings in their input costs, 100 small snack food retailers and market stall holders from across Hong Kong form a joint buying group. The buying group members must buy at least half of their snack food products through the buying group. Together, the small retailers account for a small portion of the relevant buying and selling markets in Hong Kong and there are a number of strong competitors in both buying and selling markets (including large wholesalers and supermarket chains).

 

The arrangement does not have the object of harming competition and the Commission would be unlikely to find that the arrangement has any anticompetitive effects.

 

Even if the formation of the buying group enhances the commonality of input costs across the small retailers to an extent, their market position on both the buying and selling markets and the presence of large competitors suggests harm to competition is unlikely.

 

If the joint buying agreement did give rise to harmful effects on competition, it would still be likely to generate economic efficiencies in the form of economies of scale. As the buying group members face strong competitive pressures in the downstream selling market(s) from supermarket chains, it is likely that the cost savings achieved by the joint buying will be passed on to consumers. The general exclusion for agreements enhancing overall economic efficiency may therefore apply.

 

[Source: Commission’s Guideline on the First Conduct Rule Hypothetical Example 9]

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

2. 联合采购

甚么是联合采购?

当多个企业同意集体购买产品(包括原材料)时,便会形成联合或集体采购协议。联合采购可以多种方式进行,例如透过共同控制的法律实体、组织、企业之间的合同安排、或其他更宽松的合作形式。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.31-6.32段]

联合采购有何益处?

联合采购经常让属中小企获得可媲美大型竞争对手的规模经济。这样可令中小企受惠于采购市场上较低的价格和交易成本,及/或提升其分销效率。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.33段]

联合采购何时会引发竞争上的问题?

竞争事务委员会一般不会认为联合采购具有损害竞争目的,除非有关安排实质上是为了掩饰买家之间的合谋安排。在分析联合采购对竞争的影响时,竞争事务委员会将考虑有关安排对上游采购市场和下游销售市场(分别指有关企业进行联合采购的市场,和联合采购后销售所购产品或以联合采购的产品作为原料的产品的市场)所造成的影响。

 

举例而言,如联合采购令下游市场中竞争对手的成本高度一致,或令所分享影响竞争的敏感资料超过采购安排所需时,下游市场的竞争便可能被损害。至于上游采购市场,如联合采购令有竞争关系的买家被排挤出采购市场,这可能引起竞争事务委员会关注。

 

如果有关各方在相关下游市场没有市场权势,则其联合采购一般不会引起第一行为守则下的问题。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》第6.34-6.37段]

虚构示例

为了节约入货成本,来自香港各区的100家小型零食零售商和街市档位组成一个联合采购组织。采购组织的成员必须通过该组织购买至少其零食产品入货量的一半以上。上述零售商总共只占香港相关采购市场和销售市场的一小部分,而两个市场中均有若干强劲的竞争对手(包括大型批发商和连锁超级市场)。

 

上述安排不具有损害竞争目的,而竞争事务委员会亦不大可能认为其具有任何反竞争效果。

 

即使该采购组织某程度上会促使小型零售商的入货成本趋同,但他们在相关采购和销售市场中的市场地位、以及大型竞争对手的存在,均显示有关安排不大可能会损害竞争。即使联合采购协议确实对竞争造成损害,有关协议仍相当可能产生规模经济上的经济效率。鉴于采购组织成员在下游销售市场中面对连锁超市的强大竞争压力,联合采购所节约的成本相当可能令消费者受惠。因此为提升整体经济效率的协议而设的一般豁除可能适用。

 

[资料来源:竞争事务委员会《第一行为守则指引》虚构示例9]

修订日期: