Skip to main content

2. What should I note before making an application for a patent? What is the registration procedure?

Apart from the difference in the duration of protection provided by the standard patent and the short-term patent, there is a difference in the application procedure for the two types of patent. A standard patent is obtained by registering with the Registrar of Patents in Hong Kong (who is the Director of Intellectual Property) a patent granted by a "designated patent office" overseas. Currently, there are three designated patent offices under the Ordinance: the State Intellectual Property Office of China, the United Kingdom Patent Office, and the European Patent Office (with the patent application designating the United Kingdom).

 

If, for example, an invention is made in Australia and the inventor applies for and receives a patent in Mainland China (in addition to Australia ), the inventor still has to apply for a separate patent in Hong Kong in order for the patent to be enforceable in Hong Kong .

 

In short, to apply for a standard patent in Hong Kong (with a maximum term of protection of 20 years), one must first apply for a Chinese patent or a United Kingdom patent. If a Chinese patent or a United Kingdom patent is granted, the patent owner can register it as a standard patent in Hong Kong and thereby enjoy the protection conferred by the Patents Ordinance in Hong Kong .

 

In contrast, a short-term patent (with a maximum term of protection for 8 years) can be obtained by direct application to the Registrar of Patents in Hong Kong without having to rely on any prior patent granted elsewhere.Thus, a short-term patent can be obtained much more quickly than a standard patent. A short-term patent is most suitable for short-term products which, by their nature, can only be adequately protected if a patent can be obtained quickly.

 

A patent is granted in return for full disclosure of the details of the invention in question. Thus when applying for a patent, whether it is a standard or a short-term patent, you must provide a sufficiently clear and complete disclosure of the invention in the application. If this requirement is not met, the application will be rejected. Furthermore, for a patent to be granted, the invention must satisfy three main requirements :

 

  1. The invention is susceptible to industrial application. That is, it can be made or used in any kind of industry (section 97 of the Patents Ordinance).
  2. The invention is new. This generally means that the invention was not known to anyone anywhere in the world before the patent application was filed (section 94 of the Patents Ordinance).
  3. The invention involves an inventive step (novelty). This generally means that at the time the patent application was filed, the invention was not obvious. (section 96 of the Patents Ordinance).

Applying for a patent requires careful drafting of the patent application. Poor drafting may result in a business loss or litigation with other patent owners. Although it is not a legal requirement, you are strongly advised to employ a patent agent or a lawyer to help you write the patent specification, and to communicate with the relevant patent office on your behalf. This is particularly so if you wish to apply for a patent overseas (which is a necessary prior step for obtaining a standard patent in Hong Kong). For more details on patent applications in Hong Kong , please go to the website of the Intellectual Property Department.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

2. 我在申请专利前,要注意甚么?注册的程序是怎样的?

标准专利和短期专利,除了受保护的时期有分别外,两种专利的申请程序亦有不同。要取得标准专利,首先要从海外的「指定专利办公室」取得专利,再向专利注册处处长(即知识产权署署长)登记。目前在条例下,有三个指定专利办公室:国家知识产权局、英国专利局及欧洲专利局(专利在英国申请)。

 

如果,例如一项发明在澳洲制作,发明者在中国(除了澳洲外)申请并取得专利,发明者仍然要在香港再次申请另一个专利,才可以在香港强制执行专利权。

 

简单来说,要在香港申请 标准专利 (可获最多二十年的保护),阁下必须要先申请一个国家专利或英国专利。如果获批国家专利或英国专利,专利拥有人就可以在香港登记一个标准专利,在香港享有专利条例赋予的保护。

 

相反, 短期专利 (可获最多八年保护)可以直接向香港的专利注册处处长申请,而毋须在其他地方先取得专利。所以,短期专利比标准专利更快取得。短期专利最适合一些短期性的产品,根据它们的特性,一个可以快速取得的专利,已可给予足够的保护。

 

要取得专利,必须要彻底透露涉及的发明详情。所以,当申请专利时,无论是标准专利或短期专利,阁下都必须要在申请时,就发明提供足够清晰及全面的资料。如果这项要求不能达到,有关申请便会被拒绝。除此之外,要获得专利,这项发明必须符合 三个主要要求 

 

  1. 发明可用于工业用途,即可以在任何行业中制造或使用(《专利条例第97条)。
  2. 发明属于新的。这一般是指,在发明未作出申请前,世界上任何一个人,都未知道有关发明(《专利条例第94条)。
  3. 发明涉及创造性。这一般是指,在发明作出申请时,有关发明并不为人所注意(《专利条例第96条)。

申请专利时,需要小心草拟申请书。不理想的草拟书,可能会令阁下损失生意,甚至与其他专利拥有人引发法律诉讼。虽然这并非法律要求,但我们强烈建议阁下聘请专利代理人或律师,去为阁下撰写专利申请细节,以及代表阁下,与涉及的专利部门沟通,尤其是如果阁下想在海外申请专利(这是在香港申请标准专利前所必须要做的步骤)。就香港申请专利的详情,请浏览知识产权署的网页

修订日期: