Skip to main content

6. Are there any works that I can use freely without having to obtain permission in respect of copyright?

Yes, works that are said to be in the "public domain" may be used freely. These works include works which are out of copyright (i.e. the copyright period has expired), or which fail to meet the requirements for copyright protection (e.g. names, titles, or short phrases — they may, however, be protected as trade marks).

 

Note that the fact that a work is made freely available (e.g. posted on a website) does not imply that the work is in the public domain. It only means that the public are given free access to the work, but they are not given the right to copy the work or commit any act which infringes the copyright of the work.

 

If a work is not in the public domain, one can only use it without the permission of the copyright owner if one's act is a "permitted act" under the Copyright Ordinance (see "permitted acts" on section II). In cases of doubt, it is recommended that permission of the copyright owner be obtained.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

6. 有没有作品可供我自由使用,而毋须事先向版权拥有人或有关负责人取得许可?

有。在「公共领域」内的作品都或可以自由使用。这些作品包括版权期限已届满的作品,或任何未能符合版权保护要求的作品(例如姓名、题目或短句 ─ 但它们或可以受商标保护)。

 

要留意的是,可以免费让公众取得的作品(例如列载于互联网站的作品),并不代表有关作品一定会在「公共领域」内。这只表示公众可以自由接触到有关作品,但并没有权去复制作品,或进行任何侵犯作品版权的行为。

 

如果某件作品不在「公共领域」内,而一个人在没有得到版权拥有人的许可下,便只可以就有关作品作出《版权条例》列明的「 允许的作为 」(参阅第II部分)。如有疑问,建议阁下先寻求版权拥有人的许可。

修订日期: