Skip to main content

1. The insured persons or policyholders might sometimes fail to disclose all their personal information to the insurance company. Will such a non-disclosure lead to the rejection of claims? What important facts must be disclosed?

The duty of good faith which applies to all insurance policies, means that the person buying the insurance policy must disclose all material facts (including personal information) in relation to the risk. This disclosure must be made to the insurance company from which the person is seeking to buy an insurance policy to cover the risk.

 

Note, not all kinds of information are required to be disclosed. The person looking to buy insurance policy is only required to disclose information that is “material” to the risk. Information is “material” to the risk if it is information which is relevant and important for the insurance company to take into account when assessing the risk to decide whether or not to insure the risk and to determine the amount of premium to charge for the insurance policy. For example, if the information would cause the insurance company to set a higher premium than would be the case if the information is not disclosed, then the information is material and should be disclosed. Furthermore, the duty on the person seeking insurance is not just to disclose material facts about the risk which he actually knows, but to disclose material facts which he could reasonably be expected to know and disclose.

 

On receiving the relevant information the insurance company will make an assessment of the risk. Based on that assessment, the insurance company sets the terms and conditions and the rate of premium to offer to the person looking to buy. This process is called underwriting the proposed insurance coverage.

 

A material non-disclosure occurs when the policyholder conceals or fails to disclose to the insurance company material facts that are relevant to the risk for which insurance is being sought. If there is a material non-disclosure, the insurance company will be able to avoid the insurance policy (i.e. when there is a claim, get out of having to pay the claim by handing back the premium and acting as if the insurance policy never existed). As such a material non-disclosure has serious consequences.

 

For example, a claim under a medical insurance policy may be rejected (and the policy avoided) if the policyholder did not disclose (prior to buying the insurance policy) that the insured person has a heart condition, as had the insurance company known that fact, it would have charged a higher premium.

 

Given the serious consequence a material non-disclosure can bring about, it vital that

  • A person all the questions in the insurer’s application form as fully and as honestly as possible. It is vital a person think carefully before giving an answer.
  • If a person has any uncertainty as to whether or not to disclose a particular piece of information to the insurance company, it is recommended that he err on the side of caution and disclose it.
Last revision date:

移至主內容

1. 投保人或保單持可能有向保險公司披露所有個人資料沒有這樣的露會導致索被拒絕嗎?哪些重要事實必須披露?

適用於所有保單的誠信本分意味著購買保單的人必須披露與風險有關的所有重要事實(包括個人資料)。購買保單涵蓋風險的人必須向保險公司進行這些披露。

 

注意,並非所有類型的資料都需露。購買保單的人僅需披露對風險「重要」的資料資料是相的和重地可使保用作風的評估,以考慮是否為該風險及厘定保費金額該資而言「重要」的。例如,資料使保險公司相比在露該資料時設定更高的保費,則該信息是重要的,應予以露。此外,買保險的責任不僅在於披露的風險的重事實,而且還應披露可能合理地預期到並披露的重大事實。

 

保險公司收到相關料後對風險進行評估。根據該評估,保險公司設置條款和則,以及購買保費。此過程稱為承保擬議保險範圍

 

當保單持有人隱瞞或沒有向保險公司披露與風險有關的重大事實時,就會生重大的未披露。如果有重大的未披露,則保險公司能夠銷保單(即,當有索時,退還保費就可以不必支付索,就好像該保單從來不存在一樣)。因此,這重大的未披露將導致嚴重的後果。

 

例如,如果投保人沒有披露(在購買保險單之前)被保人患有臟病,則醫療保單上的索可能會被拒絕(並且銷該保單),保險公司知道那實,它收取更高的保費

 

鑑於重大的未披露可能會造成嚴重後果,因此至關重要的是:

  • 應盡可能面和誠實地填寫保險公司申請表中的所有問題。重要的是,在出答案之前要仔細考慮。
  • 若不確定是否需要向保險公司披露細節的資料時,寧願過於謹慎也不要冒險犯錯,而盡量披露。
修訂日期: