Skip to main content

1. What factors will be considered by the Court in awarding custody of a child to either or both parties?

In all matters relating to children in family proceedings, the welfare of the child is the first and paramount consideration for the Court. While each case will depend on its own facts , the Court would take into account all relevant factors which include:

 

  • the preservation of the status quo;
  • the ages of the parents and child;
  • the personality, capability and character of the parents;
  • the financial resources of the parents;
  • the physical and mental health of the parents and child;
  • the accommodation available to the child;
  • the child's own wishes and views, if any;
  • the benefit of keeping the siblings together with one parent;
  • the religion and culture of the family;
  • professional reports such as medical, school, or court welfare officer's reports (e.g. about the child's family relationship, living conditions, mental or health elements, etc.).

Note that the aforesaid factors are just factors commonly considered by the Court, they are not exhaustive.

 

Upon hearing all the relevant evidence, the Court, bearing in mind that the interests and welfare of the child is of prime importance, would balance the factors against each other, depending on the circumstances of each case.

 

Some important factors are further elaborated below:

 

Status quo

 

Many professionals especially child psychologists opined that it is in the best interests of a child, to avoid a disruption of the familiar life of a child.

 

If a child has already settled well with one of the parents and is used to and happy with his/her surroundings and lifestyle, the Court is unlikely to consider taking the child away from that parent unless there are other compelling reasons.

 

Main carer

 

Naturally, a child will develop a strong bonding with his or her main caregiver. The child may be dealt with a blow, whether emotionally or otherwise, if he or she is separated from his or her close main carer or guardian suddenly. The damage done should not be under-estimated.

 

It is therefore considered desirable for a child to stay with the parent who has hitherto been his or her main caregiver, so as to maintain the status quo.

 

Child's wishes

 

While it is an important factor, it should be noted that children's views are not overriding. The overriding factor is still the welfare and the interests of the child.

 

Child's view will generally be heard and considered by the Court, but the weight to be given to such views would depend on the age and the level of understanding of the child concerned. The wishes of older children will play a material part in deciding with whom their custody will be granted.

 

Any views and wishes of the children must be ascertained with great care. This is usually done by an appointed court welfare officer.

 

One should avoid creating an impression that they are being asked to make a choice between their beloved mother and father. This would pose a heavy emotional burden on the child.

 

Though it is rather common, it is wrong for either parent to attempt to exert influence on a child regarding his / her view. Children's wishes are usually best expressed through a court welfare officer.

 

Keeping siblings together

 

To avoid any emotional trauma, it is regarded as desirable that siblings, in particular those who are nearer in age, should be kept together rather than being split between their parents. It is only in rare circumstances which, if it is considered best to do so, that split orders would be made by the Court. Even so, every effort should be made by the parties to ensure that the siblings can see each other regularly. Again, the damage caused by the separation of siblings when they are young should not be under-estimated.

 

Age of the parties and the child

 

The age of the parents and the child are also a material factor to be considered. The Court is more likely to award custody of babies and young children to the mother. If one parent is particularly old, it is likely that the Court will take this as a factor that would reduce his or her ability to care for the minor or child.

 

Sex of the child

 

This is usually not a very important factor. However, this might have a bearing on the Court's consideration when all other factors are equal. For instance, statistics show that a girl about to go through puberty might fare better with her mother and a boy of the same age might fare better with his father.

 

Capability of the parents to fulfil the needs of the child

 

As said, each case depends on its own facts. The same applies to the growth and upbringing of a child, whose needs and ability varied from child to child.

 

Thus, a child's needs will be considered and balanced against the health, capability and resources of each parent. The misbehaviour of a party, e.g. adultery does not necessarily affect or reduce his or her ability as a parent. After all, the prime consideration for the court is the welfare of the child.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 法庭会考虑什么因素,才会将子女抚养权判给其中一方或双方?

法庭在处理家事诉讼中有关子女的一切事项并作出判决前,其首要考虑是子女本身的利益。每一个案将视乎本身的情况与事实而定,但当处理子女安排的纷争时,法庭必须考虑全部有关系的因素,而这些因素包括:

 

  • 尽量保持现状;
  • 双亲和子女的年龄;
  • 双亲的品格、能力和个性;
  • 双亲的财务资源;
  • 双亲和子女的身体和精神健康;
  • 可提供予子女的住所;
  • 子女本身的意愿;
  • 让所有兄弟姊妹与双亲其中一方同住的好处;
  • 家庭的宗教和文化;
  • 任何专业报告,例如医疗、学校或法庭福利官的报告,而有关报告可涉及子女与家人的关系、居住条件、精神或健康等。

上述列表只包含一般会被法庭考虑的部分因素,而并非包揽所有项目。

 

法官在听取所有相关证据后,必须衡量各因素所占比重,然而法官将会紧记首要因素是子女本身的利益。

 

若干重要因素的进一步阐释如下:

 

保持现状

 

为子女本身的利益着想,应尽量避免扰乱他们现时的家庭生活。如子女与双亲其中一方相处愉快,并已习惯和喜欢现时的环境和生活形式,除非有其他迫切性原因,否则法庭不会下令将子女与现时一起生活的父亲或母亲分开。

 

主要照料者

 

一般情况下,子女通常会十分依赖他们的主要照料者或监护人,若突然被分开,将会引起情绪问题或其他困难,有关伤害亦不能被低估。因此,最好让子女继续与一向照料他们的父亲或母亲一起生活,从而保持现状。

 

子女的意愿

 

尽管子女的意愿是重要因素之一,却并非凌驾一切。法庭将会考虑子女的意愿是否符合本身的最佳利益。

 

法庭一般会聆听及考虑子女的看法,但子女看法的比重,视乎子女的年龄及明白事理的程度。在考虑将抚养权授予那一方时,较为年长之子女的意愿将会更被重视。

 

在寻求及确认子女意见的过程中必须小心谨慎,通常会经由合适的法庭福利官去处理。过程中亦要避免让子女觉得需要在母亲和父亲之间作出选择,这会对子女构成重大的精神负担。

 

任何一方试图左右子女的决定亦是不正确的做法,因此较合适之途径是经由法庭福利官去获取子女的意愿。

 

让兄弟姊妹一起生活

 

为了避免精神创伤,一般都认同兄弟姊妹 (尤其是年龄相近的)应一起生活,而不是分别判给双亲每一方。然而经衡量后,如认为这是最佳的处理方式,法庭便会将兄弟姊妹分别判给双亲每一方。但在这种情况下,应尽可能安排兄弟姊妹定期相见。

 

双亲和子女的年龄

 

双亲和子女的年龄亦是重要的考虑因素之一。法庭较可能将婴孩和年幼子女判归母亲管养。如双亲其中一方的年纪特别大,法庭亦可能认为这因素将会减低他 / 她照顾子女的能力。

 

子女的性别

 

这未必是一个举足轻重的因素,但如所有其他因素均等,这项因素亦会影响法庭之决定,例如快将进入青春期的女儿可能与母亲一起生活较为合适,而相同年纪的儿子可能较适合与父亲一起生活。

 

双亲满足子女需要的能力

 

如前文所述,每一个案将视乎本身的情况与事实而定,而不同的子女亦会有不同需要。

 

需要考虑的事项,是双亲各方的健康、谋生能力及财务资源是否可以配合个别子女的需要。双亲任何一方的不当行为(例如通奸)未必会影响或减低他 / 她作为父 / 母亲的能力。法庭最终要考虑之首要因素是子女本身的利益。

修订日期: