Skip to main content

1. A brief summary of the procedures for presenting a winding-up petition

You are recommended to seek assistance from a lawyer if you decided to institute winding-up procedures.

 

  1. Before presenting a petition, a written demand in the prescribed form (Form 1A) issued by the creditor requiring the company to pay the debt must be left by hand (not sent by post, by registered post, by fax, or by electronic means) at the registered office of the company. 21 days must be given to the company to pay the debt.
  2. Except that a demand letter as described above must first be sent to the company in the case of a petition based on the company's inability to repay debt, there is no legal requirement that any documents must be sent to the company before the winding-up petition is presented.
  3. If the company fails to pay the debt within 21 days, the creditor can present the petition to the Court. The creditor may prepare a petition without assistance from lawyers. The Appendix of the Companies (Winding-up) Rules has the required form (i.e. Form 2 or 3 with such variations as circumstances may require).
  4. Fees payable
    Apart from any legal fees that the creditor may owe to lawyers if the creditor has instructed lawyers to do the work, the creditor/petitioner will be required to pay the followings upon filing the petition:
    1. A sum of $11,250 must be deposited with the Official Receiver's Office for the purpose of covering the fees and expenses to be incurred by the Official Receiver;
    2. A court fee of $1,045 must be paid to the Registry of the High Court; 
    3. If a creditor applies for the appointment of a provisional liquidator after the commencement of winding-up, a further deposit of $3,500 (or further sum as required), has to be deposited with the Official Receiver's Office. 
  5. Obtain a hearing date for the winding-up petition when filing the petition at High Court.
  6. Copy of the petition should be submitted to the Official Receiver's Office and the Chief Bailiff. In addition, a sealed copy (copy with the Court's chop) of the petition should be delivered to the company at its registered office. Please note that the petition should also be left by hand (not sent by post, by registered post, by fax, or by electronic means) at the registered office of the company.
  7. The petition should be advertised 7 clear days before the hearing of the petition once in the Gazette and once at least in two local daily newspapers (one in Chinese and one in English), unless the Court has made an order otherwise. The advertising fee depends on the size of the advertisement. Lawyers are not necessary for the preparation of the advertisement. Form 4 of the Companies (Winding-up) Rules is the standard from of the advertisement (you can search the sample of Form 4 here). The advertisement must state the date on which the petition was presented, the date of the court hearing, and the name and address of the petitioner and the petitioner's solicitors.
Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 提交清盘呈请书之程序简述

如阁下决定入禀法庭提出清盘诉讼,应向律师寻求协助。

 

  1. 提交清盘呈请书前,债权人须发出一份要求书 (要求有关公司还债的书面文件),并须将要求书送往及留予(并非透过邮寄、传真或其他电子传讯方法)该公司的注册办事处,该公司有 21 日期限以安排偿付债项。
  2. 除上述的要求书外,法例并无规定债权人于提交清盘呈请书前,必须向有关公司送交其他文件。
  3. 倘若该公司未能于 21 日内偿付债项,则债权人可向法庭提交呈请书。债权人毋须律师协助亦可拟备呈请书,《公司(清盘)规则附录中有规定表格可供参考。然而,聘用律师处理该等文件会较为稳妥。
  4. 费用
    除聘用律师所需费用外,债权人 ( 在提交呈请书后亦会被称为「 呈请人」)在提交呈请书时须缴交下列款项:
    1. 向破产管理署缴付 11,250 元的按金,以供支付破产管理署署长将会招致的各项费用及开支;
    2. 于高等法院登记处支付法庭费用 1,045 元;
    3. 如果债权人申请于清盘程序开始后委任临时清盘人,则须按规定向破产管理署再缴存一笔 3,500 元或更多之款项 。
  5. 于高等法院提交清盘呈请书时,取得清盘呈请的聆讯日期。
  6. 向破产管理署及总执达主任提交呈请书副本。此外,呈请书之法庭盖印副本亦须送交至该公司的注册办事处。有关呈请书必须送往及留予 (并非透过邮寄、传真或其他电子传讯方法)该公司的注册办事处。
  7. 除非法庭另有颁令,否则呈请书须于 聆讯前7整天在政府宪报上刊登一次,以及在两份本地报章上(中英文报章各一份)最少刊登一次,刊登费用取决于报章公告版面之大小。在编制报章公告时,不一定需要律师协助,《公司(清盘)规则》内的「表格 4」乃标准公告格式(阁下可在此寻找「表格 4」之样本)。公告中须说明提交清盘呈请书的日期,法庭聆讯日期以及呈请人及其律师的姓名和地址。
修订日期: