Skip to main content

1. Further to the above question, can I present a winding-up petition against “ABC Trading Company” if it has refused to repay a debt to me?

The answer depends on whether “ABC Trading Company” is a limited company or not. Usually a limited company will include the word “Limited” or “Ltd” as part of its name. However, in the course of conducting business, a limited company may use a “trade name”, i.e. a name other than its “real name”. Therefore, your best course of action is to do a company search at the Companies Registry and a business registration search at the Inland Revenue Department in order to find out the full registered identity of the company in question, or the name of the limited company that owns the “trade name” (i.e. ABC Trading Company).

 

If you have clarified that “ABC Trading Company” is a limited company, then you can institute winding-up proceedings against it (by specifying its “real name”, such as ABC Trading Company Limited, in the winding-up petition). If “ABC Trading Company” is not a limited company then it cannot be subject to winding-up procedures.

 

If “ABC Trading Company” is not a limited company and is owned by an individual person (or several partners), you should commence bankruptcy proceedings against that person(s). You can find out the details of a sole-proprietor or partners,  by doing a business registration search at the Inland Revenue Department.

 

 

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 就上述问题,倘若「ABC 贸易公司」拒绝偿还所欠债务,我可否针对此公司而提交清盘呈请书 ?

答案取决于「ABC 贸易公司」是否为有限公司。有限公司的名称通常包含「有限」 (Limited / Ltd.) 字样。然而,在进行业务过程中,有限公司可能使用「 营业名称」,即并非其「真实名称」。故此在提交清盘呈请书前,最稳妥之做法是先在公司注册处进行公司查册,以取得该公司的注册资料,或找出拥有此营业名称 (ABC 贸易公司 ) 之有限公司的真实名称。

 

如确定「ABC 贸易公司」是有限公司,阁下便可向该公司提出清盘诉讼( 必须于呈请书上注明该公司之真实名称,例如「ABC 贸易有限公司」 ) 。但如该公司并非有限公司,就不能向它进行清盘诉讼 。

 

倘若「ABC 贸易公司」不是有限公司并由个人 ( 或数位合伙人 ) 拥有,则阁下可针对该公司之东主而提出破产诉讼。阁下可在税务局进行商业登记查册以便找出独资商户或合伙经营者的资料。

修订日期: