Skip to main content

3. What are the powers of liquidators when a company is wound up by the Court?

The liquidator can exercise the following powers with the approval of either the Court or the committee of inspection

 

  1. to bring or defend any action or other legal proceedings in the name of and on behalf of the company;
  2. to carry on the business of the company, so far as may be necessary for the beneficial winding up thereof;
  3. to appoint a solicitor to assist the liquidator in the performance of the relevant duties;
  4. to pay any classes of creditors in full;
  5. to make any compromise or arrangement with creditors or persons claiming to be creditors, or having or alleging themselves to have any claim, present or future, certain or contingent, ascertained or sounding only in damages against the company, or whereby the company may be rendered liable;
  6. to compromise all calls and liabilities to calls, debts, and liabilities capable of resulting in debts, and all claims, present or future, certain or contingent, ascertained or sounding only in damages, subsisting or supposed to subsist between the company and a contributory, or alleged contributory, or other debtor or person apprehending liability to the company, and all questions in any way relating to or affecting the assets or the winding up of the company, on such terms as may be agreed, and take any security for the discharge of any such call, debt, liability or claim, and give a complete discharge in respect thereof.

The liquidator can exercise the following powers without seeking prior approval from the Court or committee of inspection (while nevertheless the Court may order to limit and restrict the powers of the liquidator, if necessary):

 

  1. to sell the real and personal property and things in action (e.g. shares or debentures) of the company by public auction or private contract, with power to transfer the whole thereof to any person or company, or to sell the same in parcels;
  2. to do all acts and to execute, in the name and on behalf of the company, all deeds, receipts, and other documents, and for that purpose to use, when necessary, the company's seal;
  3. to prove, rank, and claim in the bankruptcy, insolvency, or sequestration of any contributory, for any balance against his estate, and to receive dividends in the bankruptcy, insolvency, or sequestration in respect of that balance, as a separate debt due from the bankrupt or insolvent, and rateably with the other separate creditors;
  4. to draw, accept, make, and endorse any bill of exchange or promissory note in the name and on behalf of the company, with the same effect with respect to the liability of the company as if the bill or note had been drawn, accepted, made, or endorsed by or on behalf of the company in the course of its business;
  5. to raise on the security of the assets of the company any money requisite;
  6. to take out in the liquidator's official name letters of administration to any deceased contributory, and to do in such an official name any other act necessary for obtaining payment of any money due from a contributory or the relevant estate which cannot be conveniently done in the name of the company, and in all such cases the money due shall, for the purpose of enabling the liquidator to take out the letters of administration or recover the money, be deemed to be due to the liquidator himself;
  7. to appoint an agent to do any business which the liquidator is unable to do himself/herself;
  8. to do all such other things as may be necessary for winding up the affairs of the company and distributing its assets. 
Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 清盘程序中,清盘人有哪些权力?

经法庭或审查委员会批准,清盘人可行使以下权力:

 

  1. 以公司名义或代表公司,就任何讼案或其他法律程序提出诉讼或进行抗辩;
  2. 继续公司营运,惟须有利于公司清盘且为必要;
  3. 委任律师协助其履行职责;
  4. 清偿各类别债权人的债务;
  5. 与以下人士作出任何妥协或安排∶债权人或声称为债权人的人士,或对公司有任何申索或自称对公司有任何申索的人,不论有关申索是现在或将来的、确定或可能的、经确定或仅是要求损害赔偿的,或有任何可令公司承担法律责任的申索;
  6. 按协定的条款,就以下各项作出妥协∶所有催缴及就催缴而承担的法律责任,所有债项及可导致产生债项的法律责任,所有存续于或应该是存续于公司与一名分担人、指称分担人或其他债务人或预期对公司负法律责任的人之间的申索,不论是现在或将来的、确定或可能的、经确定或仅是要求损害赔偿的,以及所有在任何方面有关或影响公司资产或公司清盘的问题;并就任何上述催缴、债项、法律责任或申索的解除而接受任何保证,以及就此而予以完全解除 。

清盘人毋须获得法庭或审查委员会之事先批准,即可行使以下权力(但如有必要,法庭有权颁令限制清盘人的权力):

 

  1. 以公开拍卖或私人合约形式出售公司的土地财产及非土地财产及据法权产(例如股票或债券),并有权将所有相关财产转让予任何人士或公司,或分批将其出售;
  2. 以公司名义或代表公司行事及签署所有契约、收据及其他文件,及必要时为此使用公司印章;
  3. 在任何分担人破产、无力偿债或财产被暂押的个案中,针对分担人的产业而就任何余款提出证明、要求获顺序摊还债款及提出申索,并在该破产、无力偿债或财物被暂押的个案中,就该余款收取摊还债款,而该摊还债款是作为破产人或无力偿债者各别所欠的债项而相对于其他各别债权人按比例收取的;
  4. 以公司名义并代表公司开出、承兑、填写及背书任何汇票或承付票,而就公司所承担的法律责任而言,该等作为所具效力,犹如该等汇票或承付票是由公司或代表公司在其业务运作中开出、承兑、填写或背书一样;
  5. 筹集任何必要款项, 并以公司的资产作抵押;
  6. 以其正式名称取得任何已故分担人的遗产管理书,并以其正式名称作出任何其他为获取分担人或其产业欠下公司的任何款项而需要作出的作为,而该作为是不便以公司名义作出的,并在所有该等情况下,为使清盘人能取得遗产管理书或追讨有关款项,所欠的款项须当作欠清盘人本人的款项;
  7. 委任代理人处理清盘人未能亲自处理的任何事务;
  8. 进行任何其他与结束公司事务及派发公司资产相关的必要工作。
修订日期: