Skip to main content

1. Elements of the offence

According to section 39 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong), “A person who drives or attempts to drive or is in charge of a motor vehicle on any road while he is under the influence of drink or drugs to such an extent as to be incapable of having proper control of the motor vehicle commits an offence”.

 

According to section 39J of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong), “A person who drives or attempts to drive, or is in charge of, a motor vehicle on any road while he or she is under the influence of a specified illicit drug to such an extent as to be incapable of having proper control of the motor vehicle commits an offence”.

 

According to section 39L of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong), “A person who drives or attempts to drive, or is in charge of, a motor vehicle on any road while he or she is under the influence of a drug other than a specified illicit drug (non-specified drug) to such an extent as to be incapable of having proper control of the motor vehicle commits an offence”.

That sounds simple and straight-forward.  However, upon a detailed examination of the wording of the above sections, we may find certain elements of these offences problematic:

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 罪行元素

根据《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章第39条所述,「任何人在任何道路上驾驶或企图驾驶或正在掌管汽车,而该人当时是受酒类或药物的影响,其程度达到没有能力妥当地控制该汽车,即属犯罪」。

 

根据《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章第39条J所述,「任何人在任何道路上驾驶、企图驾驶或掌管汽车,而该人当时正受指明毒品影响,程度达到没有能力妥当地控制该汽车,该人即属犯罪」。

 

根据《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章第39L条所述,「任何人在任何道路上驾驶、企图驾驶或掌管汽车,而该人当时正受指明毒品以外的药物(非指明药物)影响,程度达到没有能力妥当地控制该汽车,该人即属犯罪」。

 

这看来简单直接。不过,若细读上述条例的措辞,可能发现这些罪行的某些元素颇令人为难:

修订日期: