Skip to main content

Q2. If I let my child sit on the driver’s seat to play with the steering wheel while the car is stopped, will I be charged?

 

Section 42(3) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374) provides that “no person shall suffer or permit a motor vehicle to be driven by a person who is not the holder of a driving licence of the class to which such vehicle belongs”. The question here, therefore, is whether your car is being “driven” by your child.

 

Regulation 42(1)(a) of the Road Traffic (Traffic Control) Regulations (Cap. 374G) also provides that a driver shall not “when driving a motor vehicle on a road permit any person not being a driving instructor to grasp or interfere with the steering, gearing or braking mechanism of the vehicle”.

 

In the hypothetical scenario, “…while the car is stopped” is somewhat ambivalent. Is it stopped in the middle of a traffic jam? Is it stopped by the roadside or in a parking lot? Is the key in the ignition? Is the engine still running? As discussed above, there is no statutory definition of the word “driving”. We can only say that if you let your child play with the steering wheel when the engine is still running or the key in the ignition, no matter in what manner the vehicle is stopped, you probably have committed the aforesaid offence under section 42(3) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374) and regulation 42(1)(a) of the Road Traffic (Traffic Control) Regulations (Cap. 374G).

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

Q2. 如果我让我的孩子坐在驾驶座上把玩方向盘,而汽车已停下来,我会被控告任何罪行吗?

 

道路交通条例》(第374章)第42(3)条指明「任何人不得容受或允许并无持有有关车辆所属种类的驾驶执照的人驾驶汽车」。因此,这条问题的重心是:您的孩子是否在「驾驶」汽车呢。

 

道路交通(交通管制)规例》(第374G章)第42(1)(a)条亦指明,任何驾驶者「在道路驾驶汽车时,不得允许任何并非是驾驶教师的人手握着或干扰该车辆的转向、变速或制动机械装置」。

 

在这个问题的假设场景中,「汽车已停下来」一词有点含混不清。它停在一场交通堵塞中停吗? 它停在路边还是在停车场内?车匙插在点火开关吗? 汽车引擎是否仍在运转中?如上所述,「驾驶」一词并无法定定义。我们只能说,倘若在汽车引擎仍在运转时,或车匙插在点火开关,您让您的孩子把玩方向盘,那不论车辆以何种方式停下,您都可能已触犯《道路交通条例》(第374章)第42(3)条及《道路交通(交通管制)规例》(第374G章)第42(1)(a)条所述的罪行。

修订日期: