Skip to main content

Q6. Motor vehicles left unattended in streets or carparks for extended period are found at times. What action can be taken if it happens in the public area? What action can be taken if it happens in privately run carparks?

 

It should be noted that under section 2 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374), both “road” and “private road” are given such wide definitions that they include almost all kinds of places where a vehicle can be used. Sections 117 and 118 of the same Ordinance expressly stipulate that all major traffic ordinances and regulations shall apply to private roads as they apply to roads.

 

It therefore does not matter whether the unattended vehicle is on a road or in a public area or privately run carpark.

 

According to regulation 9 of the Road Traffic (Parking) Regulations (Cap. 374C), any person who “causes or permits a vehicle to remain at rest on a road in such a position or in such condition or in such circumstances as to be likely to cause danger to other persons using the road” commits an offence and is liable to a fine of $2,000.

 

The Police is also empowered under section 103 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374) to remove any vehicle which “remains at rest on a road in such conditions or in such circumstances as to be likely to cause danger to other persons using the road or to interfere with the use of the road” when the driver cannot be located, is unable to remove the vehicle or refuses to remove the vehicle. If the owner does not come forth to claim the vehicle within 3 days, the Police will issue a notice to the owner demanding him/her to take the vehicle and pay the removal and storage charges within the next 14 days; and if the owner does not claim the vehicle accordingly, the vehicle will become Government property and may be sold.

 

Even if the vehicle may not cause danger to other persons or may not interfere with the use of the road, if there is reasonable cause to believe that a vehicle has been abandoned, the Police may pursuant to section 107 of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374) give notice to the vehicle owner requiring the owner to remove the vehicle. If the owner does not remove the vehicle within 7 days, the Police may seize it; and if the owner does not claim the vehicle within 14 days after the seizure, the vehicle will become Government property and may be sold.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

Q6. 有时会发现车辆在街道或停车场长时间无人看管。如果这种情况出现在公共地方,可以怎样处理?如果这种情况出现在私人经营的停车场,又可以怎样处理?

 

值得注意的是,根据《道路交通条例》(第374章)第2条,「道路」及「私家路」的定义非常广阔,几乎包括所有可使用车辆的地点。该条例第117118条也明确规定,所有主要交通条例及规例均适用于私家路,与其适用于道路无异。

 

因此,无人看管的车辆不管是在道路上,还是在公共地方,还是在或私人经营的停车场,并不重要。

 

根据《道路交通(泊车)规例》(第374C章)第9条所述,「任何人致使或允许车辆停留在道路上不动,而停留的位置、状况或情况,是相当可能危及其他使用该道路的人的」,即属犯罪,并可被判罚2,000元。

 

道路交通条例》(第374章)第103条亦赋予警察权力,可以移走「 留在道路上不动的车辆,其状态及情况相当可能危及其他道路使用者或干扰道路的使用」,条件是该车辆无人看守,而驾驶者亦不知所踪,或驾驶者未能移走该车辆;或驾驶者拒绝移走该车辆。如车主未于3日内认领车辆,警方会向车主发出通知,要求其于其后14天内取回辆并缴付移走及存放费用;如果车主没有出现取回车辆,车辆将成为政府财产,并可予出售。

 

即使车辆没有危及其他道路使用者或干扰道路的使用,如有合理理由相信车辆已被弃置,警方可根据《道路交通条例》(第374章)第107条通知车主,要求车主移走车辆。  如车主未于7日内移走该车辆,警方可把车辆扣押;假如车主未有在扣押后14天内取回车辆,车辆将成为政府财产,并可予出售。

修订日期: