Skip to main content

b. Seat belts

It should be common knowledge to all Hong Kong citizens that all drivers and passengers must wear seat belts. That sounds simple and straight-forward. However, there are different laws governing the installation of seal belts on different seats of a vehicle. Let’s try to simplify the issue as much as we can.

 

As a vehicle owner, you have to make sure that:

 

(a) the driver seat and the front passenger seat are equipped with seat belts unless your vehicle is:

  • a private car manufactured before 30 June 1964;
  • a taxi manufactured before 1 January 1981;
  • a light bus manufactured before 1 January 1984; or
  • a goods vehicle manufactured before 1 January 1989. (regulation 6 of the Road Traffic

(Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong))

 

(b) the middle front seat (if there is any) is equipped with seat belt unless your vehicle is registered before 1 June 1996 (regulation 6A of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong)).

 

(c) the rear seats are equipped with seat belt unless your vehicle is:

  • a private car or a taxi registered before 1 January 2001; or
  • a public light bus registered before 1 August 2004.

 (regulations 6B and 6C of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong))

 

Contravention of any of the above regulations could make a person liable to a fine of $5,000 or imprisonment for 3 months.

 

As a passenger of a private car, taxi, public light bus or goods vehicle, you simply have to wear a seat belt (if any) no matter which seat you are sitting on (regulations 7, 7A and 7B of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong)). Contravention of any of these regulations could make a person liable to a fine of $5,000 or imprisonment for 3 months.

 

As the driver of a private car, of course you have to wear a seat belt (if any). You also must also ensure that all passengers on your vehicle are fastened to their seat belts (if any) (regulations 7 and 7B of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong)). Contravention of any of these regulations could make a person liable to a fine of $5,000 or imprisonment for 3 months.

 

As the driver of a private light bus or goods vehicle, you of course have to wear a seat belt (if any). You also have to ensure that all passengers on your vehicle are fastened to their seat belts (if any) (regulation 7A of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong)). Contravention of this regulation could make a person liable to a fine of $5,000 or imprisonment for 3 months.

 

As the driver of a taxi or a public light bus, you of course have to wear a seat belt (if any). But you do not have a legal duty to ensure that your passengers are fastened to their seat belts.

 

But when we come to buses, the situation is a bit different. The present law only requires that seat belts be installed for the driver seats and that drivers of buses must wear seat belts when driving (regulations 8A and 8B of the Road Traffic (Safety Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 374F of the Laws of Hong Kong)). It is not compulsory for seat belts to be installed for passenger seats of buses; and it is also not compulsory for passengers of buses to wear seat belts.

 

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

b. 安全带

对香港人来说,汽车的驾驶者和乘客都必须佩戴安全带,已是普通常识了。这似乎相当简单直接。不过,在车辆不同位置安装安全带,其实也有不同的法例规管。现在就让我们尝试简单的说明一下。

 

作为一位车主,你必须确保:

 

(a) 司机座位和司机座位旁的座位必须设有安全带,除非你的汽车是:

  • 在1964年6月30日前制造的私家车;
  • 在1981年1月1日前制造的的士;
  • 在1984年1月1日前制造的小型巴士;或
  • 在1989年1月1日前制造的货车。

(《道路交通(安全装备)规例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第6条)

 

(b) 汽车的前排中座(如有者)设有安全带,除非你的汽车是在1996年6月1日前登记的(《道路交通(安全装备)规例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第6A条)。

 

(c) 汽车的后排座位设有安全带,除非你的汽车是:

  • 在2001年1月1日前登记的私家车或的士;或
  • 在2004年8月1日前登记的公共小巴。

(《道路交通(安全装备)规例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第6B及6C条)

 

违反以上任何规例者,可处罚款$5,000及监禁3个月。

 

作为一位乘客,不论乘坐的是私家车、的士、小巴或货车,也不论你坐在车内那个座位,只要座位设有安全带,你就必须佩戴安全带(《道路交通(安全装备)规例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第7、7A及7B条)。违反以规例者,可处罚款$5,000及监禁3个月。

 

作为私家车的司机,你本人当然必须配戴安全带(如有者)。你亦必须确保车上所有乘客都佩戴安全带(如有者)。(《道路交通(安全装备)规例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第7及7B条)。违反以规例者,可处罚款$5,000及监禁3个月。

 

作为私家小巴或货车的司机,你本人当然必须配戴安全带(如有者)。你亦必须确保车上所有乘客都佩戴安全带(如有者)。(《道路交通(安全装备)规例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第7A条)。违反以上规例者,可处罚款$5,000及监禁3个月。

 

作为的士或公共小巴的司机,你本人当然必须配戴安全带(如有者)。但你并没有法律上的责任确保车上的乘客佩戴安全带。

 

但若涉及巴士,情况就有点不同了。现行法律只规限巴士的司机座位必须设有安全带,而巴士司机在驾驶时也必须配戴安全带(《道路交通(安全装备)规例》(香港法例第374F章)《道路交通(安全裝備)規例》(香港法例第374F章)第8A及8B条)。但并无法例规定巴士的乘客座位必须设有安全带,亦无规限巴士乘客必须佩戴安全带。

修订日期: