Skip to main content

Q3. In a congested road, if a vehicle has mostly passed a yellow box marking (e.g., 2/3 of its length has passed), is the driver in breach of any traffic laws?

 

According to regulation 10(1) of the Road Traffic (Traffic Control) Regulations (Cap. 374G), no person shall drive a vehicle into a boxed junction unless he will be immediately able to drive the vehicle wholly out of the boxed junction”. Therefore, it appears that the vehicle having 1/3 of its length trapped in the boxed junction is in breach of the said Regulation 10(1).

 

However, regulation 10(3) prescribes that regulation 10(1) does not apply if a vehicle is driven from a traffic lane marked with a right turn arrow to a position where the vehicle can conveniently wait to make a right turn, and is prevented from being driven out of the box junction by other stationary vehicles in or near the box junction waiting to complete a right turn, or by vehicles moving in the opposite direction.

 

For the same token, regulation 10(3) prescribes that regulation 10(1) does not apply if a vehicle is driven from a traffic lane marked with a left turn arrow to a position where the vehicle can conveniently wait to make a left turn, and is prevented from being driven out of the box junction by other stationary vehicles in or near the box junction waiting to complete a left turn, or by vehicles moving in the opposite direction.

 

Therefore, depending on the actual circumstances, the vehicle having part of it prevented from being driven out of a box junction may not have breached regulation 10(1).

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

Q3. 在拥挤的道路上,如果一辆汽车的大部分(例如,其长度的2/3)已驶过黄色方格路口,驾驶者是否违反了任何交通法例?

 

依据《道路交通(交通管制)规例》(第374G章)第10(1)条所述:「任何人不得驾驶车辆进入黄色方格路口,除非他立即能将该车辆完全驶出该黄色方格路口」。因此,仍有1/3长度留在黄色方格路口的车辆,似乎也已经违反了上述第10(1)条。

 

尽管如此,该规例第10(3)条规定,如果车辆是从一条标明右转方向箭嘴的行车线,驶向一个该车辆可便于停候以作右转的位置,并因受阻于在该黄色方格路口内或该黄色方格路口附近正停候待右转的其他停定的车辆,或因受阻于朝相反方向行驶的车辆,而无法驶出该黄色方格路口,则第10(1)条并不适用。

 

基于同样道理,如果车辆是从一条标明左转方向箭嘴的行车线,驶向一个该车辆可便于停候以作左转的位置,并因受阻于在该黄色方格路口内或该黄色方格路口附近正停候待左转的其他停定的车辆,或因受阻于朝相反方向行驶的车辆,而无法驶出该黄色方格路口,则第10(1)条并不适用。

 

因此,视乎实际情况,因受阻而无法完全驶出黄色方格路口的车辆可能没有违反第10(1) 条。

修订日期: