Skip to main content

1. The tenancy agreement stipulates that rent shall be payable in advance on the 1st day of each month. The tenancy will terminate on 15th January. Does the tenant need to pay monthly rent in full on 1st January? If so, does the landlord need to refund the rent for the period 16th to 31st January to the tenant later?

Unless there is express agreement to the contrary, the apportionment mechanism under the Apportionment Ordinance (Cap. 18) does not apply to rent payable in advance, as in this example.  The tenant is still obliged to pay the monthly rent in full on 1st January and it is not a legal requirement for the landlord need to refund the rent for the period 16th and 31st January.

 

For a tenancy agreement with a break clause which allows for early termination, the entitlement to early terminate the tenancy does not in principle affect the obligation to pay rent of the tenant.  In such a case, it would be more desirable to serve notice to quit on the pay day of the monthly rent.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 租约订明须在每月1日预缴租金。租期即将在1月15日终止。租客须在1月1日缴交整个月的租金吗?如要的话,业主要在之后要向租客退回1月16日至31日期间的租金吗?

除非有明订协议相反订明,否则香港法例第18章《分摊条例》中的分摊机制并不适用于预先缴付的租金,就正如本例子的情况。租客依然有责任在1月1日缴付一整月的租金,而没有法律规定业主要退还1月16日至31日期间的租金。  

 

若租约中含有中断租期条款容许提早终止租约,提早终止租约的权利原则上不影响租客缴付租金的责任。在此情况下,较为可取的做法是在缴付每月租金当日送达解除租约通知。

修订日期: