Skip to main content

III. How to start a civil action

If, after considering all the relevant factors as mentioned in Part II, you decide to take your dispute to court for resolution, there are still some other matters that you must also pay attention to.

 

If you have to start a civil action, you should first consider the nature of your claim and the amount involved. You can then work out the appropriate court in which to start your action. For example, if your claim involves an employment dispute, then generally, you should start your claim in the Labour Tribunal.

 

Different courts have different authority to handle different kinds of civil cases and therefore it is essential to have some basic understanding of the authority of each court. These courts include the Labour Tribunal, the Small Claims Tribunal, the District Court and the Court of First Instance of the High Court.

 

Please note that the first four questions (see below) describe the different authority of the major civil courts and tribunals in Hong Kong. The other questions cover legal procedures involved in these courts/tribunals and other general matters.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

III. 如何展开民事诉讼

在考虑过所有于第II部份提及的因素后,倘若你仍然决定将纠纷提交法院解决,便须注意以下事项。

 

在展开民事诉讼前,你应先考虑有关申索的性质和所涉及的金额,以决定应该在哪一法院兴讼。举例,若你的申索涉及雇佣纠纷,一般来说,你应在劳资审裁处提交申索。

由于不同法院具有处理不同类型的民事案件之权限,你必须对它们的司法管辖权有基本的认识。处理民事案件的法院包括劳资审裁处、小额钱债审裁处、区域法院和高等法院原讼法庭。

 

以下的首四条问题,会介绍各个处理民事案件的法院和审裁处的司法管辖权(即各法院 / 审裁处有权去处理甚么案件),余下的问题则谈及这些法院和审裁处的法律程序和其他一般事项。

修订日期: