Skip to main content

VI. What kinds of applications may be made to court before the commencement of a trial?

"Interlocutory proceedings" are proceedings that deal with the rights of the parties (plaintiff and defendant) in the interval between the commencement of the civil action and its final determination (i.e. before the court delivers the final judgment). One of the main functions is to ensure that the matter proceeds expeditiously and properly to trial. A party usually takes interlocutory proceedings to:

 

  • apply to the court for an extension of time for submitting certain documents;
  • seek directions from the court regarding the conduct of the case;
  • compel the other party to comply with the rules of the court or the court's directions; or
  • apply to the court to grant such interim relief or remedy (e.g. an interim payment/compensation or injunction) as may be just or convenient.

Some common interlocutory applications are listed below.

 

  1. Application for extension of time for complying with certain directions under the rules of court or a court order. For example, the plaintiff may apply (with substantial reasons) to extend the deadline for filing a reply to a defence.
     
  2. Application for further and better particulars (more detailed information) of the other party's pleadings.
     
  3. Application for striking out a particular pleading or part of the pleading of the other party. The applying party may rely on the grounds that the other party's pleading (i) discloses no reasonable cause of action or defence, as the case may be; (ii) is scandalous, frivolous or vexatious; (iii) may prejudice, embarrass or delay the fair trial of the action; or (iv) is otherwise an abuse of the process of the court.
     
  4. Application for amendment to the pleadings. The plaintiff and the defendant may each amend their own pleadings once before the close of pleadings (note), without the court's prior permission. Further amendments require the permission of the court. For an amendment made by one party without the court's permission, the other party shall have 14 days (after receiving the first party's amended pleading) to amend his own pleading. For an amendment that requires the court's permission, the court will specify the time for the other party to amend his own pleading.

    (Note: When both parties have set out all their facts in the statement of claim, defence (or defence and counterclaim) and reply to defence (or defence to counterclaim), the pleadings are considered to have been closed.)
     

  5. Application for documents to be disclosed from the other party. For more details, please go to another section – discovery (disclosure) of documents
     
  6. Interlocutory applications can also be made by parties to a civil action to: (i) preserve a party's rights before trial, or (ii) to dispose of or to settle a civil action before the parties have to attend a full trial. You can find more information concerning these two matters on questions 5 to 12 below.


It must be noted that some interlocutory proceedings involve technical issues and arguments. It is not advisable to start such proceedings without legal advice. The court does not approve of the misuse of interlocutory procedure, which only wastes time and money. Parties are able to obtain justice from the court more expeditiously and economically without unnecessary applications before the commencement of the trial.


Interlocutory proceedings and interim court orders (Q.1-4)

Applications to preserve a party's rights before the commencement of a trial (Q.5-10)

Disposing of or settling a civil action before proceeding to a trial (Q.11-14)

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

VI. 在案件进行审讯前,诉讼各方可向法庭提出甚么申请?

当民事诉讼程序开始了,但又未获得最终裁定(即法庭宣告判决)之前,诉讼各方的权利会透过「非正审法律程序」处理。这些法律程序的其中一个主要目的,是确保讼案可以迅速及妥当地进入审讯阶段。案中一方通常会在以下情况提出非正审法律程序:

 

  • 向法庭申请延迟呈交某些文件;
  • 就案件的处理方式寻求法庭的指示;
  • 强制对方遵守法庭的规则或指示;或
  • 向法庭申请颁布公平及适宜的中期 / 临时济助或补救方法(例如中期付款 / 赔偿或临时强制令)。

一些其他常见的非正审申请如下:

 

  1. 申请时间宽限,以便遵照法庭根据既定规则所颁布的指示或命令。举例,如有实质理由的话,原告人可申请将(回覆抗辩书的)答覆书送交法院的期限延长。
  2. 申请要求对方就状书内容提供更清楚详尽的资料。
  3. 申请剔除对方的某一份状书(或状书中的部分内容),理由是该状书:(i) 并无披露合理的诉讼因由或抗辩理由(视乎情况而定); (ii) 属于恶意中伤、琐屑无聊或无理缠扰; (iii) 可能会对有关诉讼的公平审讯造成损害、妨碍或延迟;或 (iv) 在其他方面而言是滥用法律程序。
  4. 申请修订状书。在状书提交期结束前,原告人和被告人都可以不经申请法庭许可,而各自修订己方的状书一次。其后的修订,便必须获得法庭许可才可以作出。在诉讼一方作出无须经法庭许可的修订后,另一方可以在收到该修订状书后 14 天内修订自己的状书。至于须经法庭许可才可以作出的修订,法庭会给予指定时限,让另一方修订自己的状书。

    (注:当诉讼双方已将自己全部的案情事实列于申索陈述书、抗辩书(或抗辩书和反申索书)和答覆书(或答覆书和反申索的抗辩书)后,状书提交期便会结束。)

  5. 申请要求对方披露文件。有关详情,请参阅另一部分 ─ 文件透露
  6. 诉讼各方亦可提出非正审申请,以保障自己在审讯前的权利,或 令案件在审讯前 获得解决或达成和解。关于这两方面的进一步资料,请参阅以下第 5 至 12 题。

请留意,某些非正审法律程序涉及技术性的争议和辩论,如果你没有谘询律师,便不宜进行这些法律程序。 法庭不会容许任何人滥用非正审程序,因为此举只会虚耗时间和讼费。如果诉讼各方在审讯前避免提出不必要的申请,讼案的进展会更加迅速,亦可省却讼费。

非正审法律程序和临时命

保障诉讼人在审讯前的权利之申请

如何令案件在审讯前获得解决或达成和解

修订日期: