Skip to main content

b. “incapable of having proper control of the motor vehicle

This is probably the most difficult part in relation to offences involving driving under the influence of drink or drugs: how do we determine whether a person is “incapable of having proper control of the motor vehicle”?  Of course, there can be objective evidence (usually supported by a medical report) such as an erratic manner of driving, the occurrence of an accident, the driver smelt of alcohol or was unable to walk in a straight line, etc.  But all these require evidence to prove and can be subject to heated argument from the defendant.

 

Sections 39A and 39K of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong) attempted to overcome this unsatisfactory situation.

 

For cases involving driving under the influence of drink, section 39A makes it an offence for any person “who drives or attempts to drive a motor vehicle, or is in charge of a motor vehicle, on any road with the proportion of alcohol in his breath, blood or urine exceeding the prescribed limit”; and “prescribed limit” is defined under section 2 of the same Ordinance as:

 

  • 22 micrograms of alcohol in 100 millilitres of breath;
  • 50 milligrams of alcohol in 100 millilitres of blood; or
  • 67 milligrams of alcohol in 100 millilitres of urine.

Once there is proof of the alcohol level by way of breath, blood or urine, the prosecution could simply lay a charge under section 39A instead of section 39 in most drunken driving cases and does not have to worry about how to prove whether the driver is “incapable of having proper control of the motor vehicle”. 

 

For cases involving driving under the influence of specified illicit drugs (please refer to Schedule 1A for the definition of specified illicit drugs), section 39K makes it an offence for any person “who drives or attempts to drive a motor vehicle, or is in charge of, a motor vehicle on any road while any concentration of a specified illicit drug is present in the person’s blood or urine (whether or not any other drug is also so present)”.  Therefore, again the prosecution does not need to prove whether the driver is “incapable of having proper control of the motor vehicle”.

 

But what about non-specified illicit drugs?  Sections 39A and 39K deal only with alcohol and specified illicit drugs.  For cases related to driving under the influence of non-specified illicit drugs, the prosecution would still have to produce sufficient evidence to show that the driver is “incapable of having proper control of the motor vehicle”.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

b. 「没有能力妥当地控制该汽车」

如何决定一个人是否「无能力妥当地控制汽车」,大概是涉及在酒类或药物影响下驾驶的罪行中最困难的部分。当然可以有客观证据(通常藉医疗报告支持该等证据),例如驾驶的车辆飘忽不定、发生意外、驾驶者满身酒气、或无法以直线行走等,但这些证据全部需要举证,方可成立,被告也很容易对这些证据,提出激烈抗辩。

 

道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章第39A及39K条尝试解决这个不理想的状况。

 

有关在酒类影响下驾驶的情况,第39A条指出:「任何人在任何道路上驾驶、企图驾驶或掌管汽车,而在其呼气、血液或尿液中的酒精比例超过订明限度,即属犯罪」;根据同一条例第2条,「订明限度」乃指:

 

  • 在100毫升呼气中有22微克酒精;
  • 在100毫升血液中有50毫克酒精;或
  • 在100毫升尿液中有67毫克酒精。

有了这条法例,一旦证明到驾驶者的呼气、血液或尿液中的酒精浓度到达指定水平,控方便可以根据第39A条提出起诉,而不必担心如何依据第39条,去证明该驾驶者是否「无能力妥当地控制汽车」。

 

至于在「指名毒品」(有关「指名毒品」的定义,请参阅附表1A)影响下驾驶的情况,第39K条指明:「任何人在任何道路上驾驶、企图驾驶或掌管汽车,而当时该人的血液或尿液含有任何浓度的指明毒品(不论是否同时含有任何其他药物),该人即属犯罪」。因此,控方也毋需证明该驾驶者是否「无能力妥当地控制汽车」。

 

那非指名毒品的情况又如何呢?第39A及39K条只是分别处理在酒类及指名毒品影响下驾驶的客观控罪元素。对于受非指明毒品影响下驾驶的控罪,控方仍然需要提供足够证据,显示驾驶者因药物引致他 / 她「无能力妥当地控制汽车」。

 

修订日期: