Skip to main content

b. Obligation to undergo drug test

 

Screening breath test is only for assessing whether a driver has alcohol in his body. In the case of drugs, a police officer is equipped with similar power to require a driver to undergo drug test. The relevant law, however, are quite complicated. Let’s try to go through the relevant details.

 

If a police officer has reasonable cause to suspect that a person:   

  • has been driving or attempting to drive, or has been in charge of, a motor vehicle with specified illicit drug present in his blood or urine, or under the influence of any drug (section 39M(2)(a) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong)); or
  • has been driving or attempting to drive, or has been in charge of a motor vehicle and has committed a traffic offence while the motor vehicle was in motion (section 39M(2)(b) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong)); or
  • was driving or attempting to drive, or was in charge of, a motor vehicle at the time of an accident which occurs owing to the presence of that motor vehicle on the road (section 39M(3) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong))

 

then the police officer may require that person to undergo one or more of the following preliminary drug test:

  • a Drug Influence Recognition Observation; or
  • an Impairment Test.

(section 39M(1) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong))

 

A Drug Influence Recognition Observation can take place anywhere; but an Impairment Test must be carried out at a police station (sections 39M(7) and 39M(8) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong)).

 

Despite that any police officer can require a person to undergo preliminary drug test, only certain authorized police officer can conduct the test (section 39T(5) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong)).

 

And if an authorized police officer has conducted a Drug Influence Recognition Observation on a person and does not opine that he was under the influence of a drug, he is not obliged to undergo an Impairment Test (section 39M(4) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong)).

 

And when a police officer requires a person to undergo a preliminary drug test, he must also warn the person that failure to undergo the test may render him liable to prosecution (section 39M(6) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong)).

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

b. 进行药物测试的责任

 

呼气测试的作用是用来测知驾驶者身体内是否含有酒精。至于药物方面,警务人员亦拥有类似的权力,要求驾驶者进行药物测试。不过,相关的法规比较繁复。以下就尝试看看有关的细节。

 

如果一名警务人员有合理原因怀疑某人:

  • 曾在其血液或尿液含有任何浓度的指明毒品或曾在受任何药物影响时,在道路上驾驶、企图驾驶或掌管汽车(《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章)第39M(2)(a)条);或
  • 曾在道路上驾驶、企图驾驶或掌管汽车,且在该汽车移动时,该人已犯了交通罪行(《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章)第39M(2)(b)条);或
  • 正在驾驶、企图驾驶或掌管一辆在道路上曾发生意外的汽车(《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章)第39M(3)条)

 

则该警务人员可要求该人进行一项或多于以下一项的初步药物测试:    

  • 识认药物影响测试;或 
  • 损害测试。

(《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章)第39M(1)条)

 

识认药物影响测试可在任何地方进行;损害测试则必须在警署进行(《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章)第39M(7)及39M(8)条)。

 

虽然任何警务人员均可要求公众人士进行初步药物测试,但只有已获授权的警务人员才可以进行该等测试(《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章)第39T(5)条)。

 

而假如已获授权的警务人员已对某人进行识认药物影响测试后,并不认为该人正受药物影响,则该人无需接受损害测试(《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章)第39M(4)条)。

 

而警务人员在要求某人进行初步药物测试时,必须警告该人,如没有接受测试,可遭检控(《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章)第39M(6)条)。

修订日期: