Skip to main content

Q1. Are driving licences issued by other countries valid driving licences in Hong Kong?

 

Strictly speaking, driving licences issued by other countries are not valid driving licences in Hong Kong.

 

However, a visitor from abroad, if holding a valid domestic driving licence, may drive in Hong Kong  during the period of 12 months following the date of his/her last entry into Hong Kong (regulation 37(1)(b) of the Road Traffic (Driving Licences) Regulations (Cap. 374B).

 

But obviously the above regulation 37(1)(b) provides only a temporary solution for a visiting driver. If a person holding a foreign driving licence is looking for a more or less long term relief, regulation 11(3) of the Road Traffic (Driving Licences) Regulations (Cap. 374B) would be helpful. It states that a person holding such foreign driving licence may apply for a full Hong Kong driving licence if he/she holds a driving licence issued within the last 3 years by a competent authority in any countries listed in Fourth Schedule of the said Regulations.

 

If the person holding a foreign driving licence does not come from those countries, and if he/she makes an application for a driving test within 3 months after his/her arrival in Hong Kong, he/she may apply for a temporary driving licence. The temporary driving licence is valid for 12 months from the date of the applicant’s arrival in Hong Kong (regulation 13 of the Road Traffic (Driving Licences) Regulations).

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

Q1. 其他国家发出的驾驶执照在香港是否有效?

 

严格来说,其他国家发出的驾驶执照在香港并非有效的驾驶执照。

 

然而,来自其他国家的旅客,如持有当地的有效驾驶执照,可于其最后一次进入香港日期起计12个月内在香港驾驶(《道路交通(驾驶执照)规例》(第374B章)第37(1)(b)条)。

 

但显然,上述第37(1)(b)条仅为来访的驾驶者提供临时解决方案。持有外国驾驶执照人士如希望长期在香港驾驶,应参照《道路交通(驾驶执照)规例》第11(3)条。该条例规定,该等持有外国驾驶执照的人士,如持有该规例附表4所列任何国家的主管当局在过去3年内签发的驾驶执照,可申请正式的香港驾驶执照。

 

如持有外国驾驶执照的人士并非来自那些国家,而他/她在抵达香港后3个月内申请参加驾驶测验,可申请临时驾驶执照。临时驾驶执照的有效期为申请人抵港日期起计12个月(《道路交通(驾驶执照)规例》第13条)。

修订日期: