Skip to main content

Q1. Can a learner's driving licence holder deliver takeout with his/her motorcycle?

 

Obviously a person with learner’s driving licence should not use his/her motorcycle to deliver takeout or conduct any commercial activities. Simple logic will tell us that a learner’s driving licence only entitles the holder to practise the driving of a motor vehicle (or a motorcycle).

 

However, from a strictly legal perspective,

 

  1. there is no statue which expressly disallows the holder of a learner’s driving licence to deliver takeout with his/her motorcycle;
  2. under regulation 12DA of the Road Traffic (Driving Licences) Regulations ( 374B), which specifically deals with the Commissioner for Transport’s power to cancel learners’ driving licences, there is nothing which empower the Commissioner to cancel a learner’s driving licence under similar circumstances; and
  3. while regulation 20 of the Road Traffic (Driving Licences) Regulations ( 374B) gives general power to the Commissioner for Transport to cancel a driving licence if the holder does not fulfill the conditions and requirements for the issue of the licence, or contravenes any condition of the licence, it seems that there is not any requirement or condition which prescribes that a learning driver cannot use his/her motor vehicle/motorcycle for takeout delivery.

 

Nevertheless, the third party insurance policy for a motor vehicle/motorcycle for learners certainly will be void if the motor vehicle/motorcycle is used for commercial activities such as food delivery.

 

The Commissioner for Transport may therefore rely on section 25(1) of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap. 374) to cancel the learner’s driving licence: “The Commissioner may cancel the licence of a motor vehicle if… (vi) no valid insurance in respect of third party risks as required by the Motor Vehicles Insurance (Third Party Risks) Ordinance (Cap. 272) is in force in respect of the vehicle”.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

Q1. 持有学习者驾驶执照的人士可以用他/她的电单车提供送外卖的服务吗?

 

显然,持有学习者驾驶执照的人不应使用他/她的电单车运送外卖或进行任何商业活动。简单的逻辑也会告诉我们,学习驾驶执照只赋予权利让持有人练习驾驶汽车(或摩托车)。

 

但是,从严格的法律角度来说:

 

  1. 并无法例明确禁止持有学习者驾驶执照的人用他/她的摩托车运送外卖; 
  2. 有关运输署署长取消学习者驾驶执照的权力,出自《道路交通(驾驶执照)规例》(第374B章)第12DA条;但该规例并无赋予运输署署长权利可在类似的情况下取消学习者驾驶执照;及 
  3. 即使《道路交通(驾驶执照)规例》(第374B章)第20条指明,如驾驶执照持有人不符合发放驾驶执照的条件及规定,或违反驾驶执照的任何条件,运输署署长有权取消该驾驶执照,但似乎并无任何规定或条件规定学习中的驾驶者不能使用其汽车/电单车运送外卖。

 

然而,如果汽车/电单车被用于运送外卖等商业活动,则那份学习驾驶人士的汽车/电单车的第三者保险单肯定会变得无效。

 

因此,运输署署长可依据《道路交通条例》(第374章)第25(1)条取消学员的驾驶执照:「署长可在某些情况下取消某部汽车的牌照…上述的某些情况指…(vi)有关《汽车保险(第三者风险)条例》(第272章)所规定的第三者保险,该车辆并无有效的保险」。

修订日期: