Skip to main content

Q1. Can I leave my car uninsured or unlicensed if I do not intend to drive it anymore?

 

Section 4(1) of the Motor Vehicles Insurance (Third Party Risks) Ordinance (Cap. 272) specifies that in order to “use, or to cause or permit any other person to use, a motor vehicle on a road”, there must be a third party risks insurance policy in force in relation to the user of that vehicle. The keyword here is “use”.

 

Regulation 25 of the Road Traffic (Registration and Licensing of Vehicles) Regulations (Cap. 374E) specifies that “no motor vehicle shall be upon or used on any road unless a valid vehicle licence in respect of the vehicle is displayed”. The keywords here are “be upon or used”.

 

It is evident that there is a difference between the requirements for insurance and that of licensing:  

  • For insurance, you cannot “use” a vehicle if you do not have the insurance.
  • For licensing, you cannot have your vehicle “upon or used on any road” if you do not have the licence.

 

Judging from the wording of these 2 statues, you may argue that you can leave a vehicle uninsured if you do not intend to “use” or you will not let anyone “use” your car on a road.

 

Nevertheless, even if no one is going to “use” the vehicle, you must maintain a licence as long as the vehicle is “upon” any road. Given the broad definition of the word “road”, which comprises almost any place, you certainly need a licence for the vehicle. Regulation 21(1)(a)(ii) of the Road Traffic (Registration and Licensing of Vehicles) Regulations (Cap. 374E) provides that a licence shall not be issued unless there is a third party insurance policy is “valid on the date when the licence is to become operative”. In other words, you must have a valid insurance policy as long as you continue to own the vehicle.

 

Note: since the law only requires that there must be a valid insurance policy “on the date” when the licence is to become operative, you could obtain a licence with an insurance policy which will expire in the near future. So it is possible that there will be a time gap that an unused vehicle can be placed “upon” a road without a valid insurance.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

Q1. 如果我打算不再驾驶某车辆,可以不为车辆续买保险或续领车辆牌照吗?

 

汽车保险(第三者风险)条例》(第272章)第4(1)条指明,任何人「在道路上使用汽车,或致使或允许任何其他人在道路上使用汽车」,即必须就车辆的使用者已备有一份有效的的第三者风险保险单。这里的关键词是「使用」。

 

道路交通(车辆登记及领牌)规例》(第374E章)第25条订明:「任何汽车不得在任何道路上出现或使用,除非该车辆的有效车辆牌照展示如下…」。这里的关键词是「出现或使用」。

 

显而易见,有关保险的和车辆牌照的要求存在差异:

  • 就保险而言,如果您没有保险,则不能「使用」车辆。
  • 就车辆牌照而言,如果您没有车辆牌照,则不能让您的车辆「在任何道路上出现或使用」。

 

从这两条条文的措辞来看,或许您可以说:如果您不打算在道路上「使用」或您不会让任何人「使用」您的汽车,则可以不为该车辆投保。

 

尽管如此,即使没有人打算「使用」车辆,只要车辆在任何道路上「出现」,您就必须保持车辆牌照。鉴于「道路」一词的定义极为广阔,几乎包括任何地方,您必须为车辆备有牌照。《道路交通(车辆登记及领牌)规例》(第374E章)第21(1)(a)(ii)条订明,除非有关该车辆的第三者保单「于牌照生效当日有效」,否则不会获发牌照。换句话说,只要您继续拥有车辆,您必须持有有效的保险单。

 

注意:由于法律只要求必须在牌照生效「当日」备有有效的保单,因此您可以拿着一份即将到期的保单获取车辆牌照。因此,有可能存在一个时间差,致使并无有效保险却不会被使用的车辆「出现」在道路上。

修订日期: