Skip to main content

c. Obligation to provide specimens for analysis

In addition to the power to require a person to submit to a screening breath test, a police officer may require a person to provide specimens of breath for analysis or to provide a specimen of blood or urine for a laboratory test; and it shall be an offence if anyone without reasonable excuse fails to provide the specimen when required.  

 

For analysis in relation to alcohol, section 39C of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong) provides that “A police officer may require a person whose screening breath test indicates that the proportion of alcohol in that person's breath is likely to exceed the prescribed limit or who fails to provide a specimen for the screening breath test with reasonable excuse-

 

  1. to provide 2 specimens of breath for analysis by means of an approved breath analysing instrument; or
  2. to provide a specimen of blood or urine for a laboratory test.”

While section 39B of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong) caters primarily for the random breath testing that usually takes place on the road, this section 39C deals with the situation where the police may require a specimen of breath, blood or urine at a breath test centre, police station, or hospital. It should be noted that:

 

  • 2 specimens of breath will be taken; and only the one with the lower alcohol level reading will be used as evidence against the accused person. (section 39D)
  • If there is a medical reason why a specimen of breath cannot be provided, the police officer shall decide whether a specimen of blood or urine should be taken. (section 39C(2))
  • However, if specimen of blood is to be taken from a person, the consent of this person must be obtained. (section 39C(11))
  • It is an offence for a person to fail to provide a specimen of breath, urine or blood without reasonable excuse. (section 39C(15))
  • A warning given to the accused person by the police officer at the time a specimen is required is also essential for section 39C to be operative: “A police officer shall warn a person at the time of requiring a specimen under this section that a failure to provide it may render him liable to prosecution”. (section 39C(18))
  • The test for “failure” is similar to that under section 39B, i.e. a person fails to provide the required breath specimen unless the specimen “is sufficient to enable the analysis or laboratory test to be carried out; and is provided in a way to enable the objective of the analysis or laboratory test to be satisfactorily achieved”. (section 39C(19))

 

For test in relation to drugs, section 39P of the Road Traffic Ordinance (Cap.374 of the Laws of Hong Kong) provides that an authorized police officer may require a person “to provide a specimen of blood or urine, or specimens both of blood and urine, for a laboratory test, if the police officer is of the opinion that the results of the Impairment Test indicate that his or her ability to drive properly is for the time being impaired.

 

If a police officer has reasonable cause to suspect that a specified illicit drug is present in a person’s blood or urine, and a preliminary drug test could not be conducted due to medical reason or any other reasonable cause, the police officer may make the same requirement for the taking of specimen.

 

It should also be noted that:

  • The requirement to provide any specimen has to be made at a breath test centre, police station or hospital. (section 39P(4))
  • The police officer or authorized police officer must decide whether specimen of blood or urine or both are to be taken. (section 39P(5))
  • A person must provide the specimen of urine within 1 hour of being required to provide it. (section 39P(7))
  • It is an offence for a person to fail to undergo preliminary drug test (section 39O) or fail to provide a specimen without reasonable excuse. (section 39S)
  • Specimen of blood cannot be taken from a person unless he or she consents. (section 39P(9))
  • A warning given to the accused person by the police officer at the time a specimen is required is also essential for section 39P to be operative. (section 39P(8))
  • If it appears to a police officer that a person is incapable of giving a valid consent due to medical reason, the police officer may request a medical practitioner to take a specimen of blood from that person. (section 39Q(1))

Even if blood specimen is taken from a person, it shall not be subjected to laboratory test unless the person has been informed that it has been taken, and has given consent to the analysis of the specimen. (section 39Q(4))

 

1. Ms. A’s vehicle hit the rear of the vehicle in front.  The police officer who arrived at the scene found Ms. A unsteady on her feet, her voice slurred, and her breath smelt of alcohol.  Due to Ms. A’s condition as such, the police officer found that no screening breath test could be conducted at the scene.  Ms. A was later transferred to a hospital where she was still in an apparently drunken state.  A police officer then required her to provide a specimen of urine for a laboratory test.  Ms. A, seeing that no female police officer was present, refused to provide the urine specimen.  The police officer and the doctor at the hospital then sought Ms. A’s consent to provide a blood specimen; she again refused by saying: “I don’t trust your doctor and your equipment.  How do I know if your needle is contaminated with AIDS or not?  I won’t give blood to you.”  Eventually no breath, urine, nor blood specimen was taken.  Was Ms. A entitled to make the above refusals?

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

c. 提供样本以作分析的责任

除了要求驾驶者进行呼气测试外,警务人员可要求任何人士提供呼气样本以作分析,或提供血液或尿液样本以作化验;任何人如无合理辩解而没有提供被要求的样本,即属犯罪。

 

有关酒精方面的分析,《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章第39C条订明:「如任何人的检查呼气测试显示在其呼气中的酒精比例相当可能超过订明限度,或如任何人没有提供样本以作检查呼气测试而有合理辩解,则任何警务人员可要求该人—

 

(a) 提供两份呼气样本,以供任何认可呼气分析仪器加以分析;或

(b) 提供血液或尿液样本,以作化验。

 

道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章第39B条主要针对在道路上进行的随机抽样呼气测试。而第39C条则规管警员要求驾驶者在呼气测试中心、警署或医院提供样本的情况。此外,值得注意的是:

 

  • 被告人须提供2份呼气样本,其中显示酒精浓度比例较低的一份将用作针对被告人的证据。(第39D条
  • 被告人如因医学理由而不能提供呼气样本,警务人员须决定该人士是否须提供血液或尿液样本。(第39条C(2)条
  • 不过,若要获取血液样本,就必须要先得到该人的同意。(第39条C(11)条
  • 任何人无合理解释而没有提供警务人员要求的呼气、尿液或血液样本,即属犯罪。(第39C(15)条
  • 为使第39条C条生效,警务人员必须在要求驾驶者提供样本时,对他 / 她发出警告:「任何警务人员在根据本条向任何人要求提供样本时,须警告该人,没有提供该样本可遭检控」。(第39条C(18)条
  • 对所谓「没有」提供样本的诠释,大致和第39条B条所述的相近,即驾驶者提供的样本必须「足以使该分析或化验得以进行;及其提供的方式能达到该分析或化验之目的而令人满意」,否则即属没有提供样本。(第39条C(19)条

 

至于涉及药物的分析,《道路交通条例》(香港法例第374章第39P条指明:「如获授权警务人员对某人进行了损害测试,并认为测试结果显示该人妥当地驾驶的能力当其时受损,则该警务人员可要求该人提供血液样本或尿液样本,或提供两者,以作化验」。

 

若警务人员有合理原因怀疑某人的血液或尿液含有任何的指明毒品,而基于医学上的理由或任何其他合理因由,不能对该人进行初步药物测试,该警务人员可要求该人提供血液或尿液样本。

 

除此之外,亦必须注意以下要点:

  • 警务人员只可在呼气测试中心、警署或医院要求提供样本。(第39P(4)条)
  • 提出要求的警务人员或获授权警务人员必须决定要求取得血液或尿液样本,抑或两者皆有需要。(第39P(5) 条)
  • 被要求提供尿液样本的人须于提出要求起的1小时内提供样本。(第39P(7) 条)
  • 任何人无合理辩解而没有按要求进行初步药物测试(第39O条)或提供样本(第39S条),即属犯罪。
  • 除非某人同意被抽取血液样本,否则不得从该人抽取血液样本(第39P(9)条)
  • 为使第39P条生效,警务人员必须在要求某人提供样本时,向他/她发出警告。(第39P(8) 条)
  • 如警务人员觉得某人因医学上的理由没有能力有效地同意抽取血液样本,该警务人员可要求医生从该人抽取血液样本。(第39Q(1) 条)
  • 即使已从某人抽取血液样本,除非该人已获告知抽取样本一事,并同意分析该样本,否则不得化验该样本。(第39Q(4) 条)

 

修订日期: